3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
tplowe
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:50 am

3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by tplowe »

I am helping upgrade a board that is not my own. It is currently at 3.0.0. It doesn't have any mods but it has some custom graphics, which are in the header and that's it (I think). What is the easiest upgrade method? There does not appear to be an automatic package like the one for 304 to 305.

Would I start off with phpBB-3.0.0_to_3.0.4.patch

I also see phpBB-3.0.1_to_3.0.5.patch

I do not see anything for 3.0 to 3.0.5

Thanks!
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: 3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by Pit$Bull »

Backup your files and database.
  • Upload all new files from a download of the full version, except for config.php, the /images and /files folders.
  • Go to yoursite.com/forumfolder/install/database_update.php
  • Let that run and then delete the install folder.
  • You now have a new up to date board containing all your users and posts but without any MODs that you might have had installed.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51466
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by stevemaury »

Save the custom header graphics files (I assume you mean site_logo.gif in the styles/*/imageset folder, but, whatever).

Then after doing as Pit$Bull says, reinstall the graphics files in the appropriate style(s).
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
tplowe
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:50 am

Re: 3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by tplowe »

So you guys are saying just update using the 3.0.5 full install package?

Thanks
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: 3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by Pit$Bull »

Yes but don't install just overwrite using the full package from here http://www.phpbb.com/downloads/olympus.php, follow the instructions below exactly.
Pit$Bull wrote:Backup your files and database.
  • Upload all new files from a download of the full version, except for config.php, the /images and /files folders.
  • Go to yoursite.com/forumfolder/install/database_update.php
  • Let that run and then delete the install folder.
  • You now have a new up to date board containing all your users and posts but without any MODs that you might have had installed.
jamese
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: 3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by jamese »

SOLVED....thanks

I uploaded the entire php3.0.5 and ran the DB update. However it is telling me upon acp changes that it can not locate/write-to this file..
./cache/data_global.php
I copied the entire cache folder from my backup but still same error. I have also verified the permissions.

Any ideas?
Last edited by jamese on Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: 3.0.0 to 3.0.5?? Easiest method

Post by Pit$Bull »

Set the file permissions to 777 for your cache folder.
Knowledge Base - phpBB3 Chmod Permissions
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”