HELP! Header problem

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Hi guys

I hope you can help big time.

I have changed my header icon image(site logo) and linked it fine - to the site's html homepage BUT I want to change the whole header into a different hyperlink (but retain the site logo link). Basically I have placed another image onto the header (as one whole image) and so if I can use this to hyperlink to another site it would be great.

Can you help?

http://www.ccdo.co.uk/forum/index.php

A million thanks to anyone who can help

Kev

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Pit$Bull »

Before you spend a great deal of time modifying your style I would suggest updating it. Seems you are using the 3.0.1 version and I think this style has been abandoned by the developer.
The Tharsis style is based on Prosilver and this will link you to the changes. http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 4&t=880735

User avatar
Nikkster
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:08 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Nikkster »

Hello,

The picture you're aiming on is bg_header.gif, correct? Open your forum folder and then hit the folder search button and type "bg_header" it can take up to 1 minute (depending on your PC) and then you just edit that picture.

About the hyperlink you were talking about, just type this before the image code "<a href="http://www.yourhyperlinkurl"> and end with a </a> after the IMG SRC code that's linked to the bg_header picture.

Best Regards,
Nikkster
For webhosting, I recommend http://www.ukhost4u.com/ or http://www.crewebs.com/

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Thanks a lot Nikkster

Your right about the bg_header, but the only reference I have for it is in the colours.css file (see below). Do I change it in there?

Sorry for being a bit of a div.

Thanks a mill

Kev


/* Round cornered boxes and backgrounds
---------------------------------------- */
.headerbar {
background-color: #000000;
background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif");
color: #FFFFFF;
height: 129px;

}

.headerbar2 {
background-color: #485856;
background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header2.gif");
color: #FFFFFF;
height: 30px;
}

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Can anyone help.....pretty please. It's doing me head in!

Thanks

Kevin

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Pit$Bull »

As per rule 4h, please do not bump your topic until at least 6 hours have passed since the last response. Since most of us answer questions in the order they were posted, frequent bumping will only push you further away from help.

User avatar
Nikkster
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:08 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Nikkster »

kev loomes wrote:Thanks a lot Nikkster

Your right about the bg_header, but the only reference I have for it is in the colours.css file (see below). Do I change it in there?

Sorry for being a bit of a div.

Thanks a mill

Kev


/* Round cornered boxes and backgrounds
---------------------------------------- */
.headerbar {
background-color: #000000;
background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif");
color: #FFFFFF;
height: 129px;

}

.headerbar2 {
background-color: #485856;
background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header2.gif");
color: #FFFFFF;
height: 30px;
}
Sorry, you can not hyperlink images directly from CSS, it would surely be useful but it's not possible, this is done through HTML codes.

Do you know where the div id "headerbar2" is located? If so, you will only need to hyperlink in the place where you've this special div tag. You can search for this file also but since you're using a style that I'm not familiar with, it would be the best that you search for it on your own.

Please let me know how it went.

Best Regards,
Nikkster
For webhosting, I recommend http://www.ukhost4u.com/ or http://www.crewebs.com/

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Hi Nikkster

I found this in the overall_header.html file:


<body id="phpbb" class="section-{SCRIPT_NAME} {S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}">

<div id="wrap">
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td class="top_left"></td>
<td class="top_center"></td>
<td class="top_right"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="20px" class="left_center"></td>
<td class="site_bg" width="890px">

<a id="top" name="top" accesskey="t"></a>
<div id="page-header">

<div class="headerbar">
<span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

<div id="site-description">
<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>

<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
</div>

Is this what I need to change? It doesnt say headerbar2 like you said though :?

Help!

Regards

Kevin

User avatar
Nikkster
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:08 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Nikkster »

kev loomes wrote:Hi Nikkster

I found this in the overall_header.html file:


<body id="phpbb" class="section-{SCRIPT_NAME} {S_CONTENT_DIRECTION}">

<div id="wrap">
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td class="top_left"></td>
<td class="top_center"></td>
<td class="top_right"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="20px" class="left_center"></td>
<td class="site_bg" width="890px">

<a id="top" name="top" accesskey="t"></a>
<div id="page-header">

<div class="headerbar">
<span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

<div id="site-description">
<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>

<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
</div>

Is this what I need to change? It doesnt say headerbar2 like you said though :?

Help!

Regards

Kevin
Hi Kevin,

BG_Header is fine. Then you just change the

Code: Select all

				<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
Just change the "{_INDEX}" because that takes you to the index page.

Best Regards,
Nikkster
For webhosting, I recommend http://www.ukhost4u.com/ or http://www.crewebs.com/

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Thanks a lot for your help Nikkster, it is appreciated.

I tried what you suggested, but it doesnt work :( This is what I changed:

<div class="headerbar">
<span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

<div id="site-description">
<a href="http://www.carpetcleaningsoftware.co.uk" title="Software"
id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>

<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
</div>

Any ideas?

Thanks

Kev

User avatar
Nikkster
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:08 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Nikkster »

kev loomes wrote:Thanks a lot for your help Nikkster, it is appreciated.

I tried what you suggested, but it doesnt work :( This is what I changed:

<div class="headerbar">
<span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

<div id="site-description">
<a href="http://www.carpetcleaningsoftware.co.uk" title="Software"
id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>

<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
</div>

Any ideas?

Thanks

Kev
Does it still take you to the index page? Try change this also:

Code: Select all

<a href="#start_here">
Best Regards,
Nikkster
For webhosting, I recommend http://www.ukhost4u.com/ or http://www.crewebs.com/

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51939
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Brf »

Dont change that start_here link.


Did you clear your forum's cache after changing that file?

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Hi Brf

No I didnt :? How do you clear the cache?

Thanks

Kev

p.s. I have been using filezilla for ftp to change the files - is this ok?

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51939
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Brf »

The easiest way is to click the Clear Cache button on the bottom of the first page of the Admin control panel.

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by RMcGirr83 »

....or, via FTP, delete all files found within the cache folder except for index.php and .htaccess.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”