HELP! Header problem

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
Nikkster
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:08 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Nikkster »

kev loomes wrote:Hi Brf

No I didnt :? How do you clear the cache?

Thanks

Kev

p.s. I have been using filezilla for ftp to change the files - is this ok?
Oh, you should've mention this from the beginning, using FTP clients can take a while before you can see the effects on the website actually but when it applies to dedicated servers & vps, all you need to do is to download the files actually and use it like a own computer and then it normally take effect after a couple of minutes.

Do you think you can take a snapshot of the website and see the results?

And as Brf mentioned, you should clear your cache also.

Best Regards,
Nikkster
For webhosting, I recommend http://www.ukhost4u.com/ or http://www.crewebs.com/

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Is it this bit?

Purge the cache
Purge all cache related items, this includes any cached template files or queries.

If so, it wont remove any files will it?

Thanks

Kevin

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51931
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Brf »

No, Nikkster. You always have to clear the cache folder after changing template files, and FTP'd files take effect immediately.

Yes, kev, click that button.

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Hi guys

Still no joy :cry: :cry: :cry:

Thanks

Kev

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51931
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Brf »

That header image link looks fine to me. Maybe you just need to F5 your webbrowser.

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Aw, tried that loads of times :(

Thanks

Kev

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Visiting this site:

http://www.ccdo.co.uk/forum/index.php

and clicking on the logo at the top, takes me to this site.

http://www.carpetcleaningsoftware.co.uk/

Looks like your problem is solved. :)
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Ive just looked in the cache folder and it is still full (apart from the htaccess and index files) they are all php (loads of them).

Shall I delete these off (despite doing it via the clear cache in the acp panel)?

Thanks

Kev

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51931
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by Brf »

No. Your header-link is working fine.

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Oh ok got you now.

The link is in (or on top of) the site logo on the left. I meant the rest of the header.

Basically I wanted the site logo to keep the original link (http://www.ccdo.co.uk) and the whole of the rest of the header to link to http://www.ccdo.co.uk/forum/index.php

Is it a lost cause? Any help would be so good!

Thanks

Kev

p.s. I'm going to change the site logo back to it's original link now.....any idea on the main header link?

kev loomes
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: HELP! Header problem

Post by kev loomes »

Can anyone help here? If it can't be done, can someone let me know please :)

Many thanks

Kev

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”