Can't see captcha image

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

Hello,

i have upgrade phpbb from 3.0.5 to 3.0.6 and i now i have problem with captcha!

Guests on forum can not see image of captcha for few days!

When i have upgrade phpbb from 3.0.5 to 3.0.6 everything was good but suddenly captcha doesn't work!
Does anybody know what's wrong?

Thx
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51995
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by stevemaury »

Does it show in the preview in the ACP? Which captcha are you using? Please fill out the Support Request Template Generator and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

stevemaury wrote:Does it show in the preview in the ACP?


no, nowhere
i can just see icon like the path is wrong when i viewing in google crome, in opera firefox an IE i can't see anything
Which captcha are you using?
i use GD captcha and i can not select any other (re captcha i QA captcha)
Please fill out the Support Request Template Generator and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.6
What is your board's URL? http://www.nekisite.com
Who do you host your board with? No answer given
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
Is your board a fresh install or a conversion? Conversion from phpBB2
Do you have any MODs installed? Yes
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
What MODs do you have installed? Advanced Meta Tags MOD
Advertisement Management
Expand categories
Forum SEO
IP-address in topic for phpBB3
Mods Database
NV recent topics
Prime Quick Reply
Profile views
Share on Facebook
Snow all over phpBB
Topic SiteMap
Topic in "Who is Online"
phpBB Arcade
phpBB Statistics
th23 IP Trace
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver
What language(s) is your board currently using? Croatian
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? New to PHP and phpBB
When did your problem begin? before few days but i have not install any mod and problem is here!
Please describe your problem. My guests must complete captcha to post something but they cannot see captcha and i can not see captcha too in ACP!
Generated by SRT Generator ($Rev: 3396 $)
Last edited by nibs on Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51995
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by stevemaury »

What are you using to edit the files? The cause of this is usually whitespace or a BOM at the beginning of a .php file.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

i use adobe dreamweaver CS3

which one file have whitespace or BOM at the begining!?
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51995
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by stevemaury »

Dreamweaver is a common culprit in file corruption. I suggest you open all the php files you have edited in Notepad++ (NOT Notepad), make sure there is NOTHING before the initial <?php tag and save them as utf8 w/o BOM.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

i did and every .php file was ok

<?php tag is in every file first
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51995
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by stevemaury »

Did you put the cursor to the left of the tag and use the backspace key? Have you saved them as utf8 w/o BOM?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

stevemaury wrote:Did you put the cursor to the left of the tag and use the backspace key?

yes and there wasnt any white space before <?php
Have you saved them as utf8 w/o BOM?
yes i do

this is image where is captcha now
slika_gore.jpg
slika_gore.jpg (46.31 KiB) Viewed 1918 times
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

now i have few error on the top of the forum

Code: Select all

[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4269: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /index.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4271: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /index.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4272: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /index.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4273: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /index.php:1)
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51995
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by stevemaury »

The error on your page right now indicates there is something before the initial <?php tag in includes/functions.php. Check that.

Upload a fresh copy of the includes/captcha directory

EDIT - the issue is with index.php.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

stevemaury wrote:The error on your page right now indicates there is something before the initial <?php tag in includes/functions.php. Check that.
first tag is <?php and there is not anything before, those errors are cos i have save index.php from ANSI to utfc-8 and when i save with ANSI its ok

Code: Select all

	// application/xhtml+xml not used because of IE
	header('Content-type: text/html; charset=UTF-8');   [i][color=#FF0000]---- THIS IS LINE 4269[/color][/i]

	header('Cache-Control: private, no-cache="set-cookie"');
	header('Expires: 0');
	header('Pragma: no-cache');
Upload a fresh copy of the includes/captcha directory
i did and nothing happens
nibs
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by nibs »

does anybody know where is problem?

Now my new users cannot register on site cos they dont see captcha so i have disable that option but russian spammers come to site and they spamming site!

So if anybody doesnt know where is problem, whats procedure to downgrade from 3.0.6 to 3.0.5 ?
Danny632
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by Danny632 »

same problem here
corinaw
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 4:14 am

Re: Can't see captcha image

Post by corinaw »

I had the same problem with the captcha missing for user registration. I could not see the captcha in the admin panel either.

Try going to acp/general/purge the cache.

My forum http://www.mrscleanusa.com/forum/ works now. Hopefully this fixes yours too.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”