About memcache acm

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
xomoxo
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:26 pm

About memcache acm

Post by xomoxo » Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:59 pm

Hi,

I've a forum based on phpbb 3.0.6, and I've installed memcache on my server for cache phpbb information. I've set this in config.php:

Code: Select all

$acm_type = 'memcache';
$load_extensions = '';
But the forum uses very low mem in memcached, it only uses about 365kb, it's the normal usage? or I've an error and it should use more.

Thanks for all.

xomoxo
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:26 pm

Re: About memcache acm

Post by xomoxo » Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:31 pm

Anybody can help me?

User avatar
matt1206
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK
Name: Matt Worthington

Re: About memcache acm

Post by matt1206 » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:29 pm

I've had memcache running for almost 3 weeks, and my cache usage is low
memcache.PNG
memcache.PNG (85.8 KiB) Viewed 2129 times
Last edited by matt1206 on Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
getforum.org
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: About memcache acm

Post by getforum.org » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:20 pm

I have done the same, I have set:
$acm_type = 'memcache';
// $acm_type = 'file';

in the config.php

but memcache is empty and files are still being created in /cache/

It seems that memcache in 3.0.6 is not working.
http://www.getforum.org - Get a forum with ad-free webpage, domain, email, ad-free WP blog and more.

User avatar
matt1206
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK
Name: Matt Worthington

Re: About memcache acm

Post by matt1206 » Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:36 pm

I've also seen on here you can set a couple of things in config.php for memcache

Code: Select all

define('PHPBB_ACM_MEMCACHE_HOST', 'localhost'); // Memcache server hostname
define('PHPBB_ACM_MEMCACHE_PORT', 11211); // Memcache server port
define('PHPBB_ACM_MEMCACHE_COMPRESS', false); // Compress stored data 
 
I've not got these set though, and it's working fine. I'm on 3.0.6

What are the cache files that are being written? The template files are will still created in cache.

User avatar
getforum.org
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: About memcache acm

Post by getforum.org » Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:31 pm

What are the cache files that are being written? The template files are will still created in cache.
Yes, that's correct, the template files are in /cache and the rest in memcache, so that's how it should be as I have understood?

That's a pitty, becouse the vBulletin 4.0.2 that I have tried saves everything in memcached.
http://www.getforum.org - Get a forum with ad-free webpage, domain, email, ad-free WP blog and more.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”