The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 characters

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
Ephemeraboy
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bandung Kota Hujan
Name: Bernando Bona Tius Sianipar
Contact:

The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 characters

Post by Ephemeraboy »

when a new member register to the board..
and fill the location field..
it says The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 characters
after submitting
i really dunno what happen...
any solution will be appreciated...
thanks...
Last edited by ric323 on Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:15 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic icon changed
My diary, my notepad, and my life on
http://www.bonatius.com
My online shop at
http://www.nefara.com
User avatar
Ephemeraboy
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bandung Kota Hujan
Name: Bernando Bona Tius Sianipar
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by Ephemeraboy »

hiks..
no response
My diary, my notepad, and my life on
http://www.bonatius.com
My online shop at
http://www.nefara.com
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 52169
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by Brf »

There is a 6-hour bump limit on these forums. Please be patient.

You did not receive a response because you did not ask a comprehensible question.
User avatar
Ephemeraboy
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bandung Kota Hujan
Name: Bernando Bona Tius Sianipar
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by Ephemeraboy »

Brf wrote:There is a 6-hour bump limit on these forums. Please be patient.

You did not receive a response because you did not ask a comprehensible question.
sorry then..
the problem is so urgent..
because it makes no more member can register then..
i am sorry so much for it....
My diary, my notepad, and my life on
http://www.bonatius.com
My online shop at
http://www.nefara.com
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51682
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by stevemaury »

What version of phpbb is this? Is this a Custom Profile field, I assume?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
User avatar
Ephemeraboy
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bandung Kota Hujan
Name: Bernando Bona Tius Sianipar
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by Ephemeraboy »

stevemaury wrote:What version of phpbb is this? Is this a Custom Profile field, I assume?
3.0.6
i really get frustated got this problem...
yeah it just happen in Location profile field...
My diary, my notepad, and my life on
http://www.bonatius.com
My online shop at
http://www.nefara.com
User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
Posts: 22910
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by ric323 »

Steve asked if this was a custom profile field.
i.e. one you have created, as opposed to the built-in "Location" field.
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions
User avatar
Ephemeraboy
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bandung Kota Hujan
Name: Bernando Bona Tius Sianipar
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by Ephemeraboy »

ric323 wrote:Steve asked if this was a custom profile field.
i.e. one you have created, as opposed to the built-in "Location" field.
nope, this is the existing profile field in phpbb..
i don't created the new one...
My diary, my notepad, and my life on
http://www.bonatius.com
My online shop at
http://www.nefara.com
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51682
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by stevemaury »

The Location field does not appear at registration in version 3.0.6 (or any version 3.0.x).
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
Posts: 22910
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by ric323 »

To tell us about your board, please fill out the Support Request Template and post it back here.

I particularly want to see the URL of your board, and the list of MODs you have installed.
It appears you are in the middle of installing some more MODs. That isn't a good idea while you are trying to fix a problem...
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions
User avatar
Ephemeraboy
Registered User
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bandung Kota Hujan
Name: Bernando Bona Tius Sianipar
Contact:

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by Ephemeraboy »

sorry for the inconvenience..
this topic may be locked..
i have solved this problem...
there's 2 mods crash....
thans for support forum team attention...
My diary, my notepad, and my life on
http://www.bonatius.com
My online shop at
http://www.nefara.com
potiron
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:55 am

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by potiron »

Ephemeraboy wrote: i have solved this problem...
there's 2 mods crash....
Hi
I have EXACTLY the same problem :(
I installed Profile Fields Control MOD

I explained my problem here.

However if you can tell me how you got it fixed, it would be great too.
:geek:
potiron
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:55 am

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by potiron »

FIXED

After a few investigation, I found the conflict:

This mode is conflicting with the MOD Anti-Spam ACP, in the file:
ucp_register.php

The problem is when you check the validation here:

Code: Select all

			// validate custom profile fields
			$cp->submit_cp_field('register', $user->get_iso_lang_id(), $cp_data, $error);
			
			if (!sizeof($error))
			{
				if ($data['new_password'] != $data['password_confirm'])
				{
					$error[] = $user->lang['NEW_PASSWORD_ERROR'];
				}

				if ($data['email'] != $data['email_confirm'])
				{
					$error[] = $user->lang['NEW_EMAIL_ERROR'];
				}
			}
			
			// START Anti-Spam ACP
			antispam::ucp_register($data, $error);
			// END Anti-Spam ACP

			if (!sizeof($error))
			{
				$server_url = generate_board_url();
Therefore I did apply all the changes for the Anti-Spam ACP on that file only, BUT I COMMENTED this call such as:

Code: Select all

			// validate custom profile fields
			$cp->submit_cp_field('register', $user->get_iso_lang_id(), $cp_data, $error);
			
			if (!sizeof($error))
			{
				if ($data['new_password'] != $data['password_confirm'])
				{
					$error[] = $user->lang['NEW_PASSWORD_ERROR'];
				}

				if ($data['email'] != $data['email_confirm'])
				{
					$error[] = $user->lang['NEW_EMAIL_ERROR'];
				}
			}
			
			// START Anti-Spam ACP
			//Comment the line below as it conflicts with MOD 
			//antispam::ucp_register($data, $error);
			// END Anti-Spam ACP

			if (!sizeof($error))
			{
				$server_url = generate_board_url();
And it works fine for me, a user can now register and type a Location value without the message:
The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 characters

2nd METHOD:

Otherwise, need to be allowed in ACP:
Display allowed profile fields during registration:
If set to yes, any fields marked as allowed in the Profile Fields settings will be displayed during registration (except the Signature field).

But all the fields are displayed and you loose control.
JobKnockey
Registered User
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:38 pm

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by JobKnockey »

Surely this causes anti-spam to lose some functioning?
potiron
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:55 am

Re: The field “Location” is too long, a maximum of 0 charact

Post by potiron »

JobKnockey wrote:Surely this causes anti-spam to lose some functioning?
Well actually, after a few weeks of use, Anti Spam works great!
Regarding my previous post, I think it works fine but it needs to be customised properly, which is a bit tricky when you install it at first. In the same part of the ACP there is a menu called Profile Field which I did not see when I posted the issue, that needs to be customized to allow the fields I think. Otherwise it creates a conflict (I did not try it since I applied what I described above and it works well enough for me).
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”