Bots with registered users name??

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
zackpack
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:40 am

Bots with registered users name??

Post by zackpack »

hi all!
i have a question...is possible that a bot access my forum with the nickname of one of my users!?

User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
Posts: 22909
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric
Contact:

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by ric323 »

Normally no, unless there's something screwed up in your database.
Why would you think this is happening?
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions

User avatar
zackpack
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:40 am

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by zackpack »

ric323 wrote:Normally no, unless there's something screwed up in your database.
Why would you think this is happening?
because some users access my forum very early in the morning,but they tell me that they were sleeping :)
last night at 3:00am i was logged in and i saw a friend of mine online...clicked on "who's online" nickname link near the browser used by user there was a link like this http://www.google.com/webmasters/bot.html

User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
Posts: 22909
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric
Contact:

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by ric323 »

Please take a screen capture of the "who is online" page next time you see this.

Have you been editing your bot settings, or installing any MODs that modify how users are handled?
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions

User avatar
zackpack
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:40 am

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by zackpack »

ric323 wrote:Please take a screen capture of the "who is online" page next time you see this.

Have you been editing your bot settings, or installing any MODs that modify how users are handled?
omg!
right now..
Image

as you can see the ip showed is not an italian ip...

ps: no users mod installed. just "who was here" mod.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51191
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by stevemaury »

Look at some of rombo's post and see if he has ever posted from that IP. It is possible for a user to simulate a bot by changing their user agent.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

User avatar
zackpack
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:40 am

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by zackpack »

stevemaury wrote:Look at some of rombo's post and see if he has ever posted from that IP. It is possible for a user to simulate a bot by changing their user agent.
no posts with that ip.

new case:
Image

and if i click the ip i get:
IP: crawl-66-249-65-230.googlebot.com

User avatar
zackpack
Registered User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:40 am

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Post by zackpack »

they have changed their password but the problem still remains :?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”