Page 1 of 1

Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:31 am
by zackpack
hi all!
i have a question...is possible that a bot access my forum with the nickname of one of my users!?

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:04 am
by ric323
Normally no, unless there's something screwed up in your database.
Why would you think this is happening?

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:07 am
by zackpack
ric323 wrote:Normally no, unless there's something screwed up in your database.
Why would you think this is happening?
because some users access my forum very early in the morning,but they tell me that they were sleeping :)
last night at 3:00am i was logged in and i saw a friend of mine online...clicked on "who's online" nickname link near the browser used by user there was a link like this http://www.google.com/webmasters/bot.html

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:14 am
by ric323
Please take a screen capture of the "who is online" page next time you see this.

Have you been editing your bot settings, or installing any MODs that modify how users are handled?

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:46 am
by zackpack
ric323 wrote:Please take a screen capture of the "who is online" page next time you see this.

Have you been editing your bot settings, or installing any MODs that modify how users are handled?
omg!
right now..
Image

as you can see the ip showed is not an italian ip...

ps: no users mod installed. just "who was here" mod.

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:44 pm
by stevemaury
Look at some of rombo's post and see if he has ever posted from that IP. It is possible for a user to simulate a bot by changing their user agent.

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:08 pm
by zackpack
stevemaury wrote:Look at some of rombo's post and see if he has ever posted from that IP. It is possible for a user to simulate a bot by changing their user agent.
no posts with that ip.

new case:
Image

and if i click the ip i get:
IP: crawl-66-249-65-230.googlebot.com

Re: Bots with registered users name??

Posted: Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:58 am
by zackpack
they have changed their password but the problem still remains :?