Refresh security question

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
cherryaa
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:54 am

Refresh security question

Post by cherryaa » Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:52 pm

I'm delighted that phpBB3 now includes the security question option - spam registrations have gone from 5 a day (inactive board) with Captcha to NONE 8-)

Some of my questions might be a bit esoteric, for some users. Can you point me to instructions on how to offer a question refresh (ie, "Try a different question")?

Thanks: I have searched for this, didn't find it.
Running 3.0.7-PL1
Last edited by Pit$Bull on Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic icon changed

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Refresh security question

Post by Pit$Bull » Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:02 pm

ACP->general tab->CAPTCHA module settings.
Choose QA CAPTCHA and then configure.

cherryaa
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:54 am

Re: Refresh security question

Post by cherryaa » Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:11 pm

Thank you ... but I'm not seeing an option to refresh the questions. There is one for the visual CAPTCHA (which is enabled, just in case) but none for the questions :?

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Refresh security question

Post by Pit$Bull » Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:14 pm

If yours is not like attached then please fill out the Support Request Template Generator and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
CAPTCHA module settings_1270851187525.png
CAPTCHA module settings_1270851187525.png (7.26 KiB) Viewed 245 times

cherryaa
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:54 am

Re: Refresh security question

Post by cherryaa » Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:23 pm

Done :)
Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.7-PL1
What is your board's URL? http://deeply-personal.co.uk/forum/
Who do you host your board with? private host (shared, Linux-Apache)
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
Is your board a fresh install or a conversion? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.0.7
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver -> id_provalentina
What language(s) is your board currently using? english UK
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? ******
What password can be used to view this issue? ******
When did your problem begin? When I switched to Q&A Captcha, after updating to 3.0.7-PL1
Please describe your problem. There's no option to allow user refresh of the security Q&A.
My questions are geared to target audience; some might be too esoteric. Need to allow refresh.
Posted on forum, Pit$Bull told me to submit this form.
Generated by SRT Generator ($Rev: 3777 $)
Admin -> Captcha settings
Admin -> Captcha settings
phpbb3captcha_main.jpg (27.53 KiB) Viewed 229 times
Admin -> Captcha configuration (top)
Admin -> Captcha configuration (top)
phpbb3captcha_top.jpg (31.59 KiB) Viewed 229 times
Admin -> Captcha configuration (bottom)
Admin -> Captcha configuration (bottom)
phpbb3captcha_btm.jpg (9.64 KiB) Viewed 229 times

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Refresh security question

Post by Pit$Bull » Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:40 pm

If the wrong answer is given or any other issue arises after the submit button is pressed then a new question will be presented.
You can configure as many questions as you want to cycle.

cherryaa
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:54 am

Re: Refresh security question

Post by cherryaa » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:14 am

So what you're saying is: it's already cleverer than I realised? :lol:

Thank you for taking the trouble, Pitbull!

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”