cron.php causing high server load

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
haggisv
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:31 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

cron.php causing high server load

Post by haggisv »

I've been told by my host that cron.php is occasionally causing a huge server load, and since I'm on shared hosting it's affecting other users.

Can anyone advice why this file would cause such a high server load? I'm using 3.0.6

Thanks a lot!
User avatar
haggisv
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:31 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: cron.php causing high server load

Post by haggisv »

I've checked the file, and it has not been modified. What could cause it to put such a heavy load on the server?
User avatar
haggisv
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:31 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: cron.php causing high server load

Post by haggisv »

Anyone please?
User avatar
d1m0
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:20 am

Re: cron.php causing high server load

Post by d1m0 »

If you have a large forum with many users and a large database, executing the cron may indeed result in high load on a shared server. Reducing the size of the database should help significantly, but in most cases this is not really an option.

If the problem is caused by your cron job being executed too often, you can simply increase the interval for its execution. In any case, your host should have provided possible solutions to the issue and you may want to check them. If you do have a big and popular forum, maybe you should consider upgrading to a more powerful hosting solution.
SiteGround Technical Support Team Member
Check out our special phpBB hosting package
User avatar
haggisv
Registered User
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:31 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: cron.php causing high server load

Post by haggisv »

Thanks a lot for the reply d1m0!

What executes the cron jobs, and how do I change the interval please?

Yes you're right, I might have to upgrade, but I'd like to make sure it's really neccesary, as it's a big jump in cost.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”