Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
emcha
Registered User
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:25 am

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by emcha »

emcha wrote:Alright I have a feeling I should have done this at home on my own computer that runs xp *raises his fists at vista* I just click on my own link instead of using the bookmark and now it's showing....... :evil:
Well as I said here, it works now. even though it's placed before the head, but if it's a problem for some browser I'll place it after, for compatibility sake.

But if the editing is wrong, in which just saying the edit i made is wrong is not very helping unless I'm shown where it's wrong. Then the source page that is linked in my first post should be updated. Because I followed that page to the T.
Last edited by emcha on Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sierron
Registered User
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:22 am
Location: Germany
Name: Artur
Contact:

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by Sierron »

Yep that is true. Let's say it should be expand that you can use a relative path instead of a full path when you have that image in your forums root folder.
Multilanguage TimeSplitters Site

If you need support, I suggest you to use the Support Request Template for your questions on this board. If you have some serious problems, the Support Toolkit can fix it (depends on the problem).
emcha
Registered User
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:25 am

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by emcha »

Sierron wrote:Yep that is true. Let's say it should be expand that you can use a relative path instead of a full path when you have that image in your forums root folder.
So basically where is my editing error here. That's it's before the <head> or that I've included the full path or both? Asking since I have a few styles to edit still, and i want them to be compatible with all browsers.
User avatar
Sierron
Registered User
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:22 am
Location: Germany
Name: Artur
Contact:

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by Sierron »

Both.

That the html code for your favicon is over the <head> tag and also that you use the internal server dir, http://www.iluvatarsgrace.com/home/emch ... avicon.ico, of your site.

edit:

instead of

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-gb" xml:lang="en-gb">
<link REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="http://www.iluvatarsgrace.com/home/emcha/public_html/favicon.ico">
<head>
use this

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-gb" xml:lang="en-gb">
<head>
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico">
Last edited by Sierron on Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Multilanguage TimeSplitters Site

If you need support, I suggest you to use the Support Request Template for your questions on this board. If you have some serious problems, the Support Toolkit can fix it (depends on the problem).
emcha
Registered User
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:25 am

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by emcha »

Sierron wrote:Both.

That the html code for your favicon is over the <head> tag and also that you use the internal server dir, http://www.iluvatarsgrace.com/home/emch ... avicon.ico, of your site.
K so bassicaly it should only be shown like this?
http://www.iluvatarsgrace.com/public_html/favicon.ico
User avatar
Sierron
Registered User
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:22 am
Location: Germany
Name: Artur
Contact:

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by Sierron »

Sorry, I were to fast. My mouse working strange and move pages forward as I edited my post above, because I saw you didn't answered yet.

so just favicon.ico for the link to the image. public_html are also a folder of your site from the server.
Multilanguage TimeSplitters Site

If you need support, I suggest you to use the Support Request Template for your questions on this board. If you have some serious problems, the Support Toolkit can fix it (depends on the problem).
emcha
Registered User
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:25 am

Re: Adding a favicon is not working for me.

Post by emcha »

Sierron wrote:Sorry, I were to fast. My mouse working strange and move pages forward as I edited my post above, because I saw you didn't answered yet.

so just favicon.ico for the link to the image. public_html are also a folder of your site from the server.
KK thanks.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”