Starting over..

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

I would like to make a complete fresh install of phpBB, and then just move all posts, forums and users across from an existing board to the fresh install.

Is this possible to do by making a backup of the old forum and then simply restoring the the files via admin CP into the new forum?

If so, what parts do I need to back up from the old forum just so I have the posts, forums and users?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69635
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Starting over..

Post by KevC »

Just do this

*NOTE: Before proceeding backup all files and the database.*
  • Upload all new files from a download of the full version, EXCEPT for config.php, the /images and /files folders.
  • Go to yoursite.com/forumfolder/install/database_update.php
  • Let that run and then delete the install folder.
  • You now have a new up to date board containing all your users and posts but without any MODs that you might have had installed.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

Thanks Kevin.

I will give it a try. :)

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

EDIT!

Kevin, I don't think that will work for me?
You see, when trying to use the Q&A function etc... I am getting a database error. I installed a fresh version, everything works fine. So I can only assume that there is a bug in the current database?

Would your method still work do you think?

Thanks

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69635
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Starting over..

Post by KevC »

What error?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »


User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69635
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Starting over..

Post by KevC »

Your hosting is running out of memory to run it. You need to talk to them.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

That was my first thought, but I installed a fresh forum in a sub-folder, new database, and everything works fine?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69635
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Starting over..

Post by KevC »

You haven't mentioned what other MODs you're running.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

There is just a facebook login mod. Thats why I thought a clean install would be better (get rid of everything apart from posts, forums and members).

So bearing all that in mind, would your first method work or would I have to somehow breakdown and save the data I need?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69635
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Starting over..

Post by KevC »

The method I posted will remove all MODs. It's effectively a fresh installation.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

Kevin,

I made a totally clean install using your method, but I am still having the same problem as mentioned. I can only assume there is a bug in the database.

What I want to try now is a manual backup of just the posts, forums and users. Can you please advise what I need to save using phpBB's backup feature?

Thanks

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69635
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Starting over..

Post by KevC »

It's not as easy as that. Lots of tables are cross referenced.

It's still worth asking your hosts about that memory error.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

I'll look into that Kevin. It just seems odd that it all works on another clean install in a sub-folder on the same domain?

Thanks for your help.

bbbri
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:05 pm

Re: Starting over..

Post by bbbri »

Just out of interest, where does adjusting the spambot settings write in the database? I ask because it seems that any different setting I try to make (even the simple image one) I get the same error. It is as if it will only work on the default 3D image?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”