issues with database usernames etc

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

Hi All,

firstly can i thank people for their invaluable help so far.

I have recently has to move one of my forums to another hosting folder (Freeola thing).
The reason being is i needed to have the flexibilty of allowing members to post up posts and threads (otherwise it just leads to the root domain name) - long story.

to cut a long story short, i have just uploaded all the files for this forum. It then advises that the database username has no access when i try to pull it up in the browser.
Realising what the problem was i went to check the original setting which thankfully was still there.
Went to input this (database and username, password etc) but freeola insists on putting a prefix before it, so it will not login to the existing forum.

So two things, i asked Freeola how and if i can overide this setting, awaiting response.

Question to you guys, can i go for broke, accept what freeola give me and change it in the forum?
If so how?

Many thanks in advance

Alastair.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68126
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

not sure what you are talking about here.
did you make a database backup of the board on the old host?
did you create a new database on your new host?

if so, then did you import your database backup from the old host into the new database?

if so, did you then edit the new config.php file to access the new database( that now has the imported data in it ) using the correct table prefix etc.?

all of that has to happen when you move to a new host, you can't just copy the files over.

and, you can't access the old database from the new host, they don't allow that.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

Hi Lumpy,

Yes indeed i have a backup of the old forum as i copied it all down.

So going by making changes to the config.php file, how do i go about doing that?
When i first set the forum up i needed to give it a database name and username etc. I think this is what the problem is. This needs to be changed to reflect the new hosting?
Many thanks

Alastair
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 22764
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket probably.

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Mick »

"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

Thanks for that Mixstar

I have built another config.php file as discussed.
The file is compiled as below

<?php
// phpBB 3.0.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'mysqli';
$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbport = '';
$dbname = 'i711_oas';
$dbuser = 'i711_oas';
$dbpasswd = '*****';
$table_prefix = '';
$acm_type = 'file';
$load_extensions = '';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('DEBUG', true);
// @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
?>

If you click the below link, you will see what it returns, i am lost! lol

Many thanks in advance for any help you can give

http://www.onlineastronomyforum.com/
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

I should add the i711_oas database was created on the host.

I think its down to the table being renamed in the existing files?
This is where i am lost i think?
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51554
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by stevemaury »

The tables are not named in files. Your config table is missing. How many tables does your database have? Also, your config.php file shows no table prefix. Do the phpBB tables in your database in fact have no prefix?

I would bet that the problem is that the tables do have a prefix, but you have not put it in config.php. Take a look in phpMyAdmin and see what the prefix is. I am betting it is phpbb_
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

I found a procedure for doing it also from here.

given that ago. For the record, not only had i not entered in the db prefix, i had not downloaded the database from the host to use.
This now down. I have used the bigdump php file to import the databases so will now see how it flies.

Will post any further updates :-)
Thanks again for all you're help.
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

ok the plot thickens.

The migration was successful enough BUT

I had two forums hosted in the same place.
One database setup for both.
I wanted to host them separately, so i proceeded to carry out the above steps and now it seems i have all the boards and forums from the forum i wish to leave there?
There is another table called information_schema (contains 17 entries)

Anyone ideas as to how this has happened, can i delete these databases and try another set?

Many thanks
StefanL
Registered User
Posts: 2265
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 10:10 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by StefanL »

Alastair.Leith wrote:ok the plot thickens.

There is another table called information_schema (contains 17 entries)

Anyone ideas as to how this has happened, can i delete these databases and try another set?

Many thanks
DON'T even think about doing something about "information_schema" (it's NOT a table, it's a database), your host has created this; it has absolutely nothing to do with PHPBB.

Late in this topic you describe that you have TWO forums in ONE database. Well, then you must have two different prefix, like phpbb_ and phbbb2_, or whatever. If you take a complete backup, it's like you say, you have both forums in your database. Search in your backup (its plain text file) for "server_name". You should get two hits. Decide what prefix you don't need and remove the others from the backup (do I need to say that you should work on a COPY?). A complete PHPBB3 should have 63 tables. (Correct me if I'm wrong!). So if you search in your backup for "CREATE TABLE" you should get 126 hits. This means you have two forums in your database.
When I suggest that you should alter your files, BACKUP them BEFORE.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68126
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

before you start deleting things in the database, let's get the board working.

having both sets of tables in the database won't hurt a thing.

your board can only use one, so figure out which set of tables you want for the new board and change the config.php file to reflect that table prefix.

if you never remove the other set of tables, it won't matter. Just get the board working first.
If you choose the wrong table prefix then you can always edit the config.php file to use the other table prefix.




robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Alastair.Leith
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:31 pm

Re: issues with database usernames etc

Post by Alastair.Leith »

Thanks for that Robert,

i found that by editing the config.php file it returned it to normal.

The forum still wont show flash wheras my other one does, but heyho.

Thanks again for all your help.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”