Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
Matrix Leader
Registered User
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Dubai, U.A.E.
Name: Matrix Leader
Contact:

Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Post by Matrix Leader »

Check the image attached pls...

says that Google [bot] had permissions transferred and it has my name next to it, then it has a regular member below it

what does this mean?

I am worried

I have also attached the bots permissions they seem normal, so I wonder what is that permissions transferred all about?

I was sleeping and I woke up to find this

I have a secure password for myself and the admin account


EDIT: Just noticed in the Admin Permissions, the bots are included, this is very strange.

I am removing them now but can anyone tell me what might have happened here? and what do you suggest me doing?
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (26.48 KiB) Viewed 218 times
Bots Permissions
Bots Permissions
bots.PNG (21.21 KiB) Viewed 214 times
Admin permissions where bot appear to be part of the group
Admin permissions where bot appear to be part of the group
admin permissions.PNG (51.58 KiB) Viewed 211 times
BlackBerry Matrix Website (For all your BlackBerry OS updates, apps, etc)
BlackBerry Matrix Forums
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Post by Oyabun1 »

Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
User avatar
Matrix Leader
Registered User
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Dubai, U.A.E.
Name: Matrix Leader
Contact:

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Post by Matrix Leader »

Oyabun1 wrote:Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
Strange, I was shocked to see the bots login into the ACP in the log

Anyway, i've removed them from the group now....
BlackBerry Matrix Website (For all your BlackBerry OS updates, apps, etc)
BlackBerry Matrix Forums
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 52058
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Post by Brf »

Oyabun1 wrote:Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
That third image shows that the Bots usergroup had Admin permissions
Matrix Leader wrote:I have also attached the bots permissions they seem normal,
That second image is showing User permissions, not Admin permissions.
Matrix Leader wrote:EDIT: Just noticed in the Admin Permissions, the bots are included, this is very strange.
I am removing them now
I assume you simply highlighted the Bots usergroup name on that Admin permissions page and clicked the Remove Permissions button. That is the proper way to do that.
Matrix Leader wrote:Strange, I was shocked to see the bots login into the ACP in the log
You didnt show us that... You do not have to login to the ACP to transfer permissions -- simply click the "Test out user's Permissions" link in the user's profile, which is what I assume Googlebot did.
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Post by Oyabun1 »

Brf wrote:
Oyabun1 wrote:Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
That third image shows that the Bots usergroup had Admin permissions
Yes, but what I meant was that the Bots couldn't give themselves Admin permissions, another Admin with sufficient permissions had to do it.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 52058
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Post by Brf »

Yes. Someone must have accidently given the Bots usergroup Full Admin permissions. I would not think a Bot could actually navigate the ACP in any way. That transfer-permissions link is a special case in that you are doing an Admin function outside the actual ACP.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”