Page 1 of 1

Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:47 am
by Matrix Leader
Check the image attached pls...

says that Google [bot] had permissions transferred and it has my name next to it, then it has a regular member below it

what does this mean?

I am worried

I have also attached the bots permissions they seem normal, so I wonder what is that permissions transferred all about?

I was sleeping and I woke up to find this

I have a secure password for myself and the admin account


EDIT: Just noticed in the Admin Permissions, the bots are included, this is very strange.

I am removing them now but can anyone tell me what might have happened here? and what do you suggest me doing?

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:34 am
by Oyabun1
Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:07 am
by Matrix Leader
Oyabun1 wrote:Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
Strange, I was shocked to see the bots login into the ACP in the log

Anyway, i've removed them from the group now....

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:29 am
by Brf
Oyabun1 wrote:Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
That third image shows that the Bots usergroup had Admin permissions
Matrix Leader wrote:I have also attached the bots permissions they seem normal,
That second image is showing User permissions, not Admin permissions.
Matrix Leader wrote:EDIT: Just noticed in the Admin Permissions, the bots are included, this is very strange.
I am removing them now
I assume you simply highlighted the Bots usergroup name on that Admin permissions page and clicked the Remove Permissions button. That is the proper way to do that.
Matrix Leader wrote:Strange, I was shocked to see the bots login into the ACP in the log
You didnt show us that... You do not have to login to the ACP to transfer permissions -- simply click the "Test out user's Permissions" link in the user's profile, which is what I assume Googlebot did.

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:21 pm
by Oyabun1
Brf wrote:
Oyabun1 wrote:Bots can't change their permissions unless given the permission to do so. It is most likely that you accidentally transferred permissions the bots group.
That third image shows that the Bots usergroup had Admin permissions
Yes, but what I meant was that the Bots couldn't give themselves Admin permissions, another Admin with sufficient permissions had to do it.

Re: Should I be concerned? Check log pls

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:25 pm
by Brf
Yes. Someone must have accidently given the Bots usergroup Full Admin permissions. I would not think a Bot could actually navigate the ACP in any way. That transfer-permissions link is a special case in that you are doing an Admin function outside the actual ACP.