Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MYSQL

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MYSQL

Post by Praetorian Guard »

I have a question. I am in the process of chaning out the template, adding the mods to the new template, updating phpbb, etc. but will so on my standalone to make sure everything works before uploading to the server. I have made complete backups of the forum and the entire database. Here is my question - it probably will take me a little bit of time to do all this, and I expect new posts, etc. to be done on the live version while I work on the standalone (before uploading). I assume that the phpbb upgrade and some other mods will require DB changes. What I was wondering is how do I merge the database on my standalone (once I get all the mods, updates, etc. completed) to the database on the live server without losing the changes from my standalone, and those on the live db, so that I basically have a database left with the current changes on the live server DB and the updated changes on the standalone DB??? Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks!
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 52105
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MY

Post by Brf »

Why would you want to merge the test db into the live one if nobody is posting or registering to it?
User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MY

Post by Praetorian Guard »

Brf wrote:Why would you want to merge the test db into the live one if nobody is posting or registering to it?

Maybe I am confused then. What exactly gets stored on the live DB? Does the phpbb upgrade make DB changes? Are posts, etc. stored on the DB? Maybe that is my confusion. Thanks!
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 52105
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MY

Post by Brf »

Yes. All of your users, and forums, and posts and stuff are in the database.

The phpBB version update would make database changes, so you would upload the latest /install/ folder and browse to your forum's /install/database_update.php
User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MY

Post by Praetorian Guard »

Well then how would you go about this? Should I just get the new template going, and once that is done, upload the template (with mods, etc.) to the server, and then if I need to do updates on the mods and the update on the phpbb software itself shut the site down for maintenance and then make those changes on the live server side? Thanks!
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 52105
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MY

Post by Brf »

You have not said what mods you are working with, and whether you are using automod.

If you are not using automod, you should be able to simply copy up all of your files from your test server, except config.php, and overwrite what you have online. Then you can re-run any database updating scripts that came with your mods. If you are using Automod, it will be more complicated.
User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Re-doing template and updating PHPBB on stand alone - MY

Post by Praetorian Guard »

Brf wrote:You have not said what mods you are working with, and whether you are using automod.

If you are not using automod, you should be able to simply copy up all of your files from your test server, except config.php, and overwrite what you have online. Then you can re-run any database updating scripts that came with your mods. If you are using Automod, it will be more complicated.

Thanks! I have quite a bit of mods, but I do them manually, no automod. Thanks again!
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”