Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

Hello,

I am looking some solution for my forum. As phpbb is now updating quite often I have decided to remove all my extra mods but some how its becoming difficult to remove all edits and database as I have used lots of MODs, unfortunately :(.

So what I am looking for is will it possible if I will install brand new installation of latest version of phpbb 3.0.10 and only import member, topic, permission and attachment database from old/running forum to the new installed forum?

If it is possible than which database table I have to export and import? and if not than is there any alternate way to do the same?

Thanks a lot..
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51554
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by stevemaury »

*NOTE: Before proceeding backup all files and the database.*
  • DELETE all the phpbb files and folders EXCEPT for config.php, the /store,/images and /files folders.
  • Upload all new files from a download of the full version 3.0.10, EXCEPT for config.php, the /store, /images and /files folders.
  • Go to yoursite.com/forumfolder/install/database_update.php
  • Let that run and then delete the install folder.
  • You now have a new up to date board containing all your users and posts but without any MODs that you might have had installed.
Any entries in the database placed there by MODs will be ignored, as the files will no longer call them.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

Thanks for instant reply. Thts what I love here most. However I am aware with this procedure but in this, it will keep all mod database. I have tried to use stk but that damaged everything. May be because of too much MODs.

Othere tedilus way I am thinking after updating database as you said anx manually remove all mods table. Will that be okay?
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51554
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by stevemaury »

stevemaury wrote:
Any entries in the database placed there by MODs will be ignored, as the files will no longer call them.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
StefanL
Registered User
Posts: 2265
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 10:10 pm

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by StefanL »

jsoni wrote:Thanks for instant reply. Thts what I love here most. However I am aware with this procedure but in this, it will keep all mod database. I have tried to use stk but that damaged everything. May be because of too much MODs.

Othere tedilus way I am thinking after updating database as you said anx manually remove all mods table. Will that be okay?
If you know all modifications made to the database, it's OK to remove them, else use stevemaury's advice.
When I suggest that you should alter your files, BACKUP them BEFORE.
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

StefanL wrote:
jsoni wrote:Thanks for instant reply. Thts what I love here most. However I am aware with this procedure but in this, it will keep all mod database. I have tried to use stk but that damaged everything. May be because of too much MODs.

Othere tedilus way I am thinking after updating database as you said anx manually remove all mods table. Will that be okay?
If you know all modifications made to the database, it's OK to remove them, else use stevemaury's advice.
Yes, that's what I am trying to explain here. Even if I know phpbb default tables and remove rest of and install fresh copy,will that works?

But how to get fresh pack of older version? On Download page only latest version available and others for update package.
Last edited by jsoni on Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
StefanL
Registered User
Posts: 2265
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 10:10 pm

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by StefanL »

jsoni wrote:Yes, that's what I am trying to explain here. Even if I know phpbb default tables and remove rest of and install fresh copy,will that works?
Yes, but read my lips, BACKUP everything before you are making any changes. :shock:
When I suggest that you should alter your files, BACKUP them BEFORE.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68126
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

the database cleaner in the STK will remove any tables and columns etc. from the database that any MODs have installed.

if you do that and also replace all the old files with new ones. then you have a brand new board with all your posts, members etc and NO MODs.

that is the whole point of doing it that way so you do not have to guess which tables and which changes have been made to the database. the cleaner does it for you.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:the database cleaner in the STK will remove any tables and columns etc. from the database that any MODs have installed.

if you do that and also replace all the old files with new ones. then you have a brand new board with all your posts, members etc and NO MODs.

that is the whole point of doing it that way so you do not have to guess which tables and which changes have been made to the database. the cleaner does it for you.


robert
Oh Yeh.... that's what I am looking for.. thanks.. let me try and get back again.
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

Okay so I have tried to remove MODs database but getting SQL error

Code: Select all

General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysqli ]

Table 'jatin7i_forums.phpbb_ads_groups' doesn't exist [1146]

SQL

SELECT a.ad_id FROM phpbb_ads_groups a, phpbb_user_group ug WHERE ug.user_pending = 0 AND ug.user_id = 2 AND a.group_id = ug.group_id

BACKTRACE

FILE: includes/db/mysqli.php
LINE: 163
CALL: dbal->sql_error()

FILE: ads/functions.php
LINE: 135
CALL: dbal_mysqli->sql_query()

FILE: ads/functions.php
LINE: 61
CALL: get_ads()

FILE: includes/functions.php
LINE: 4480
CALL: setup_ads()

FILE: stk/includes/database_cleaner/database_cleaner_views.php
LINE: 169
CALL: page_header()

FILE: stk/tools/support/database_cleaner.php
LINE: 157
CALL: database_cleaner_views->display()

FILE: stk/index.php
LINE: 305
CALL: database_cleaner->display_options()
So what to do now? or its normal and when I will replace the fresh file it will works?
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

Fortunately I got 3.0.9 from one website and replaced fresh copy of files... it works fine for me now. and I believe everything is there..

To Moderator:
Please keep this topic open for few days so if I require any help for the same so can post here. Once I will done I will know you, so you can close the topic.
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

I found one error

In ACP I can still see few tabs

.MODS
ACP_CAT_MODS
ACP_PRIVMSGS_MOD_TAB

Also found few deleted mods tabs in user control panel like User_Blog etc..

How to removes those Tabs?
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51554
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by stevemaury »

Delete those modules in Module management - ACP in the ACP System tab.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68126
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

if you have run the database cleaner from the STK properly and if you have replaced all the files with new ones that you could not be having all these problems that relate to MODs that were installed.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
jsoni
Registered User
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Re: Adding Old Database to Brand New Installation

Post by jsoni »

So can you please guide me what to do and how to solve this issue? As far as I concern is to get all running forum data (member, topics, attachment etc.) to my new fresh installed forum.

I have one more idea if it works.

If I will update my running forum to latest version and if I will import only default tables to fresh forum will it works?
PM me for phpbb modification
Not phpbb or php master but can help you to gain my knowledge.
On your own risk :)
For graphics and animation PM me.
Forum:http://www.pixelandgrain.in/
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”