EDIT: bbcode mod error (merging db) and redirect error

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

EDIT: bbcode mod error (merging db) and redirect error

Post by Praetorian Guard »

I'm trying to get this running on my local machine (phpbb3) from an existing site I have. I downloaded the db and tried to import it into xampp and it says its too big and to use bigdump. I downloaded bigdump and changed the user and db name and password as it shows in the config file for phpbb and I am getting a pw error. Not sure if I'm doing it right could someone who has used this chime in? Thanks.
Last edited by Praetorian Guard on Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67233
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

you have to put the username/password for the database you have created on your localhost. not the one for the database backup.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

Not sure I understand. I'm trying to get my existing db in xampp but it says its to big and I need bigdump. Could you be kind enough to explain what I need to do? I'm new at doing the localhost xampp thing. Thanks

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67233
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

you edit the bigdump.php file with the information of your new database that you have just created when you installed phpbb on your localhost.
you put the bigdump.php file in a folder named dump along with the sql backup file that you exported from your host.

then, in your localhost browser, you go to;

localhost/phpBB3/dump/bigdump.php

click the link to run the import and wait.


be sure to change the phpBB3 in that path above to whatever folder you made when you created the new board .


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

So I have to install the phpbb software first which creates the db and then import the data from my older db in? My current db is from an older phpbb version. Let me know thx.

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Oyabun1 »

Praetorian Guard wrote:So I have to install the phpbb software first which creates the db
No, the phpBB software does not create the database it only populates it with a structure and data. You need to create the database first. You cannot import into or write to a database that doesn't exist.

You cannot add the necessary details to the "Database configuration" section of the bigdump.php file if the database doesn't exist yet.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

Thanks! I found out that the "username" for the DB shout be "root". Ok, got the DB to install on XAMPP. I downloaded the new version of phpbb3 and went to the subfolder and "install". I get this error:

"Tables with the specified prefix already exist, please choose an alternative."

Am I doing something wrong? Help appreciated. Thanks!

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

OK, did the database update, and changed the config file. Now I am getting this error:

Updating database to latest stable release

Database type :: mysql4
Previous version :: 3.0.8
Updated version :: 3.0.11


Updating database schema

Progress :: . Done
Result :: Some queries failed, the statements and errors are listed below.

Error :: Out of range value for column 'bbcode_id' at row 13
SQL :: ALTER TABLE `phpbb_bbcodes` CHANGE `bbcode_id` `bbcode_id` smallint(4) UNSIGNED DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL



This is probably nothing to worry about, update will continue. Should this fail to complete you may need to seek help at our support forums. See README for details on how to obtain advice.



Updating data

Progress ::
Fatal error: SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Table '<dbname>.phpbb_styles' doesn't exist [1146]

SQL

SELECT style_id FROM phpbb_styles WHERE style_active = 0 in C:\xampp\htdocs\phpbb\includes\db\dbal.php on line 757

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

Ok, forget the second part. Looked at the backup log and found out the Db did not fully backup, thus I was missing tables and the error, will try again.

How about this (the first part of the issue), I do have a bbcode mod, can I ignore this error, or will I have problems? Thanks.

Progress :: . Done
Result :: Some queries failed, the statements and errors are listed below.

Error :: Out of range value for column 'bbcode_id' at row 13
SQL :: ALTER TABLE `phpbb_bbcodes` CHANGE `bbcode_id` `bbcode_id` smallint(4) UNSIGNED DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

One more question, I got it up and running but for some reason when I try to get to my admin page on my local host it redirects to my live site. How do I change this?

Plus the other question on the bbcode error. Thanks!

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Please edit your post if you have new information.

Concerning your bbcode id error, how many bbcodes do you have?
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Oyabun1 »

@Praetorian Guard
We have a 6 hour bump rule here, please follow it. If you have more to add and nobody has yet replied to your previous post then just edit it. Bumping a topic moves it to the bottom of the queue meaning it will take longer to get a reply.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

User avatar
Praetorian Guard
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Need some help exporting database

Post by Praetorian Guard »

RMcGirr83 wrote:Please edit your post if you have new information.

Concerning your bbcode id error, how many bbcodes do you have?


I have quite a few bbcodes.

I did read this on the redirect, will have to do this as I didn't..

Code: Select all

UPDATE `phpbb_config` SET `config_value` = 'localhost' WHERE `config_name` = 'server_name';
UPDATE `phpbb_config` SET `config_value` = 'localhost' WHERE `config_name` = 'cookie_domain';

UPDATE `phpbb_config` SET `config_value` = '/phpBB3' WHERE `config_name` = 'script_path';


Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”