Setting up a second forum from a first one

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
Ludovic B
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:06 am

Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by Ludovic B »

Hi, I'm a beginner with phpBB and I'm using the version 3.0.12

I have just launched a forum that I customized with a theme and a few MODs (the Premod SEO, Automod, Facebook, Ajax Like, etc). It took me hours but it's working fine.

Now, I'd like to set up another forum with the exact same theme and MODs. And I wonder what is the best and safer method to do so ?

- Will it work if I just copy all the files of the first forum in the folder of the second forum ?
Then, which datas will I have to adapt, to declare the database name, login and password, change the url etc ? There will be the .htaccess and what else ?
- Shall I make a first install with the premod SEO to setup the database correctly, then paste all the files of the first forum, excluding... which ones (not to mix with the datas of the first forum...) ?

Thanx in advance for any help.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69630
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by KevC »

We don't support premods.
You should ask the people who made it.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Ludovic B
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:06 am

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by Ludovic B »

Perhaps I have not been as clear as it needed to be.

My question is not about mods and premods, but about copying a forum structure and files to build another forum, without having to set up everything a second time.

I guess (but I'm not sure) the problem is the same with any customized phpBB forum : is it possible to make a second one from a first one just by copying the files and changing a few data here and there - and if yes, where are those data stored? in.htaccess, in the database too...?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69630
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by KevC »

Ludovic B wrote: I guess (but I'm not sure) the problem is the same with any customized phpBB forum
Yes it is with our files but if you want to use a premod from another site you should consult them about it.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
John P
Registered User
Posts: 1237
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:55 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: John
Contact:

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by John P »

Copy files and db to your new location.
Change config.php so it will access the new db.
Change your domain in ACP -> Domain.
Empty your cache.

Now you have an exact copy at your second domain.
Image
Webhosting, Custom MODs, Technical management, MOD installation and Webdesign

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by Oyabun1 »

John P wrote:Copy files and db to your new location.
Change config.php so it will access the new db.
Change your domain in ACP -> Domain.
Empty your cache.

Now you have an exact copy at your second domain.
Except the cookie domain will be wrong and possibly other server settings. Also, SEO MODs often make use of changes to the .htaccess file, so that may need changing as well.

@Ludovic B
See Transferring Your Board to a New Host or Domain for standard phpBB. We can't say if that is all that is required in relation to a SEO premod, as Kevin said, you will need to ask them.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

User avatar
John P
Registered User
Posts: 1237
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:55 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: John
Contact:

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by John P »

Good one, I forget the cookie domain.
But we get a complete overview in this way.
For the SEO (didn't read at the first moment) he or she should do the same work he did for the old board.
Image
Webhosting, Custom MODs, Technical management, MOD installation and Webdesign

Ludovic B
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:06 am

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Post by Ludovic B »

Ok thank you guys, your answer are very helpful ! I'll try that then, cheers :)

Do I mark the topic as solved, or only when i'm sure it is ?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”