Page 1 of 1

Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:19 pm
by Ludovic B
Hi, I'm a beginner with phpBB and I'm using the version 3.0.12

I have just launched a forum that I customized with a theme and a few MODs (the Premod SEO, Automod, Facebook, Ajax Like, etc). It took me hours but it's working fine.

Now, I'd like to set up another forum with the exact same theme and MODs. And I wonder what is the best and safer method to do so ?

- Will it work if I just copy all the files of the first forum in the folder of the second forum ?
Then, which datas will I have to adapt, to declare the database name, login and password, change the url etc ? There will be the .htaccess and what else ?
- Shall I make a first install with the premod SEO to setup the database correctly, then paste all the files of the first forum, excluding... which ones (not to mix with the datas of the first forum...) ?

Thanx in advance for any help.

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:28 pm
by KevC
We don't support premods.
You should ask the people who made it.

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:41 pm
by Ludovic B
Perhaps I have not been as clear as it needed to be.

My question is not about mods and premods, but about copying a forum structure and files to build another forum, without having to set up everything a second time.

I guess (but I'm not sure) the problem is the same with any customized phpBB forum : is it possible to make a second one from a first one just by copying the files and changing a few data here and there - and if yes, where are those data stored? in.htaccess, in the database too...?

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:44 pm
by KevC
Ludovic B wrote: I guess (but I'm not sure) the problem is the same with any customized phpBB forum
Yes it is with our files but if you want to use a premod from another site you should consult them about it.

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:48 pm
by John P
Copy files and db to your new location.
Change config.php so it will access the new db.
Change your domain in ACP -> Domain.
Empty your cache.

Now you have an exact copy at your second domain.

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:22 pm
by Oyabun1
John P wrote:Copy files and db to your new location.
Change config.php so it will access the new db.
Change your domain in ACP -> Domain.
Empty your cache.

Now you have an exact copy at your second domain.
Except the cookie domain will be wrong and possibly other server settings. Also, SEO MODs often make use of changes to the .htaccess file, so that may need changing as well.

@Ludovic B
See Transferring Your Board to a New Host or Domain for standard phpBB. We can't say if that is all that is required in relation to a SEO premod, as Kevin said, you will need to ask them.

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:30 pm
by John P
Good one, I forget the cookie domain.
But we get a complete overview in this way.
For the SEO (didn't read at the first moment) he or she should do the same work he did for the old board.

Re: Setting up a second forum from a first one

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:36 pm
by Ludovic B
Ok thank you guys, your answer are very helpful ! I'll try that then, cheers :)

Do I mark the topic as solved, or only when i'm sure it is ?