Database-size missing after update MariaDB from 5.5 to 10.0

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
Fisch.666
Registered User
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:58 am

Database-size missing after update MariaDB from 5.5 to 10.0

Post by Fisch.666 »

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.12
What is your board's URL? No answer given
Who do you host your board with? No answer given
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? Yes
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.0.11
What MODs do you have installed? No answer given
What styles do you currently have installed? defaults
What language(s) is your board currently using? german
Which database type/version are you using? MariaDB 10.0.10 (In ACP shown as: MySQL(i) 10.0.10-MariaDB-1~wheezy-log)
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What password can be used to view this issue? No answer given
When did your problem begin? Updating MariaDB from 5.5.37 to 10.0.10
Please describe your problem. No answer given
Generated by SRT Generator

Hi,

after updating MariaDB from 5.5.37 to 10.0.10 on my Debian Wheezy system running phpBB 3.0.12 the "Database-Size (German: Datenbank-Größe)" is now shown as "not available (German: nicht verfügbar)" in the ACP.

I've already cleared the board cache and restarted PHP. Anyone noticed the same after an upgrade of MariaDB?
User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 5739
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: Database-size missing after update MariaDB from 5.5 to 1

Post by AmigoJack »

MariaDB is simply not supported by phpBB, no matter how close it is to MySQL.

Open /includes/functions_admin.php and find:

Code: Select all

                if (preg_match('#(3\.23|[45]\.)#', $version))
                {
                    $db_name = (preg_match('#^(?:3\.23\.(?:[6-9]|[1-9]{2}))|[45]\.#', $version)) ? "`{$db->dbname}`" : $db->dbname;
Change to:

Code: Select all

                /*** 2014-04-24 BEGIN AmigoJack
                    http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=2239466 ***/
                /*if (preg_match('#(3\.23|[45]\.)#', $version))
                {
                    $db_name = (preg_match('#^(?:3\.23\.(?:[6-9]|[1-9]{2}))|[45]\.#', $version)) ? "`{$db->dbname}`" : $db->dbname;*/
                if (preg_match('#(3\.23|[45]\.|10\..+Maria)#', $version))
                {
                    $db_name = (preg_match('#^(?:3\.23\.(?:[6-9]|[1-9]{2}))|[45]\.|10\..+Maria#', $version)) ? "`{$db->dbname}`" : $db->dbname;
                /*** 2014-04-24 END ***/
Untested, since I don't have MariaDB.
The worst thing about censorship is ███████████
Affin wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:51 am
The problem is probably not my English but you do not want to understand correctly.
...
We will not come anybody anyway, nevertheless, it's best to shit this.
Fisch.666
Registered User
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:58 am

Re: Database-size missing after update MariaDB from 5.5 to 1

Post by Fisch.666 »

Hi,

and thanks for your reply.
AmigoJack wrote:MariaDB is simply not supported by phpBB, no matter how close it is to MySQL.
Sorry, after reading this:

https://area51.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopi ... 84&t=44217

i assumed that MariaDB is fully supported but just have noted it was posted in "[3.1/Ascraeus] Merged RFCs".
AmigoJack wrote:Untested, since I don't have MariaDB.
Thanks for the code snipped. Will do some tests in the next few days and let you know if this works.
Fisch.666
Registered User
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:58 am

Re: Database-size missing after update MariaDB from 5.5 to 1

Post by Fisch.666 »

Hi,

just tested the patch and works here without a problem. I have also posted this at the issue here:

https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-11951

*Edit*

Also posted a new bug at the tracker as requested in the issue above:

https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-12441
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”