How to make my forum available?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
alex-k

How to make my forum available?

Post by alex-k » Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:37 am

Hello, so I've downloaded phpBB3 and successfully installed using XAMMP (local host). I've put my own domain by using the board settings, but it is still not accessible for everyone. What should I do? Sorry if I'm asking like a no-brainer but I'm really new to this, I used to create a forum directly from the forum website but never downloaded software to run a forum. So, what should I do to make my forum available on the internet and not just on my local host?

Thank you so much for your time, any help would be greatly appreciated!

KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: How to make my forum available?

Post by KevC » Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:54 am

You should by some hosting and put it on there. Opening up your own PC to the internet is not a good idea and may be against the T&Cs of your ISP.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

alex-k

Post by alex-k » Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:01 am

Kevin Clark wrote:You should by some hosting and put it on there. Opening up your own PC to the internet is not a good idea and may be against the T&Cs of your ISP.
Are you saying getting phpBB3 is not a good idea as I'm completely uneducated about running it or that it is not a good idea to run it without getting a web hosting?

DanesDK

Post by DanesDK » Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:28 am

alex-k wrote:
Kevin Clark wrote:You should by some hosting and put it on there. Opening up your own PC to the internet is not a good idea and may be against the T&Cs of your ISP.