Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
CASnarl
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 5:36 am

Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Post by CASnarl » Fri Jan 30, 2015 5:43 am

Hi, I have a freeforums site and a friend of mine is trying to register but the confirmation code section that has the captcha/confirmation code is empty and she said she's refreshed the page several times. I looked to see what she meant and this is what happens.
Image
I too refreshed multiple times to no avail.

Long long ago I had a forum with smfnew and there was an option as the administrator to register a member myself and they could then log in later.

Is it possible to do with with freeforums?

Or does anyone know why there is no confirmation code showing up and how to fix that?

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Post by Tom » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:15 am

CASnarl wrote:Long long ago I had a forum with smfnew and there was an option as the administrator to register a member myself and they could then log in later.

Is it possible to do with with freeforums?
There are MODs available for phpBB that add a page to the ACP where an admin can create new users (here is one of them). However, seeing as Free Forums is a free forum hosting service, they will likely not allow you to install MODs on your forum, so you likely won't be able to use this option.

Can you perhaps disable the confirmation code at registration? Here is a post on how to do that: viewtopic.php?f=46&t=1781655#p10765135
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21308
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket - definitely

Re: Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Post by Mick » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:45 am

As per Tom but it looks likes you have other issues. Presumably you can get at the ACP to see what is going on with the registration page? Can you get at the spambot countermeasures in the ACP? If you can try installing Q&A:

How to configure Q&A
  1. Administration Control Panel (ACP) > Spambot countermeasures> Installed plugins > click the dropdown box and select Q&A (it will be greyed out)
  2. Click the configure button then click add
  3. Add your question and answer (you need a Q&A for each language you have installed) click submit
  4. Click “back to previous page” then click “back”
  5. Select Q&A from the dropdown box (again)
  6. Click submit at the bottom of the page.
  7. Done.
If not you should speak to your host.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

CASnarl
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 5:36 am

Re: Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Post by CASnarl » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:25 pm

I cant seem to find any of your suggestions.

Where is spambot countermeasures?

Or the visual confirmation settings?

I cant find either of those.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69219
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Post by KevC » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:33 pm

Your board is hideously out of date. It's only v3.0.2 (11 versions out of date) and you don't have the correct access to be able to update it. Q&A was added at 3.0.6 so you won't be able to use that.

You will need to talk to freeforums about how to fix the problem or swap to another captcha that works for you.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66471
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Can administrators register members if they can't register?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:50 pm

or see if you can get a database backup and install your own board on your own server so you have complete control of it.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”