Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Hi,
I need some support for a domain issue involving two phpbb forums.
In particulary:

I have a phpbb2 forum on the subdomain http://forum.site.it and an other phpbb3 forum on the subdomain http://test.site.it, I want to switch it so the phbb3 goes to the http://forum.site.it and the phpbb2 on the http://test.site.it.

Can anyone tell me all the passages to do it so I won't mess it all up? :)

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68177
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

backup both sets of files to your computer then delete them from the server and upload the correct files to the correct subdomain on the server using ftp.
on the phpbb2 board you will need to go in and edit the settings for the board url in the admin panel. in the phpbb3 board there usually is no need to do that as it figures out where it is installed on its own.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Thanks for the quick reply! Do I have to set something on the DB too or what you said it’s enough?
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68177
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

what I said should be all you need to do.
make sure you backup both boards before you start. double check your backup files to make sure they are complete.

this means to copy all of the files from each subdomain down to your computer using ftp.

be sure to put them each in their own folder on your computer so you keep them separate.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Thank you for your prompt reply :)

I'm wondering, if I change folder names from ftp? Without overwriting, of cours :lol:

Do I have to change also some other settings in ACP?
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68177
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

no, as I said, just do what I posted above.

remember, as long as you make backups of the files it doesn't matter what you do in the ftp you cant hurt it so bad that you can't recover completely with only a few clicks.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Ok :mrgreen: Thanks :)

I will move at half july, so in case I will write again here ^-^

Bye
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Hi!

Quick question: do I have to upload also folder "cache"?
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18437
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by david63 »

Brinda wrote:Hi!

Quick question: do I have to upload also folder "cache"?
Yes - but you do not have to upload any contents in the cache folder (other than index.html and .htaccess)
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Hi!

I've done, but maybe something is wrong.
I have only board disable message and nothing more. No styles, no templates (if you want, you can see my website from profile)

What can I do?
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Oyabun1 »

Open the board’s /cache folder on the server and delete everything except index.htm and .htaccess.

Also your cookie domain is incorrect. You have gnagna.lumos.it. See Fixing incorrect cookie settings.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Hi!

Many thanks! :)

I've fixed and it works! :)

Only: for some user, log in doesn't work: they do it, but after confirmation they have to log in again. How can I solve?
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Oyabun1 »

Change the cookie name by at least one character. That will force everyone who visits to get the new cookies.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
Brinda
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Move from TEST subdomain to REAL subdomain

Post by Brinda »

Ok, thanks again :D
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”