Restoring Forums Backup Manually

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
ClassicMan

Restoring Forums Backup Manually

Post by ClassicMan » Tue May 24, 2016 10:00 am

Hello,

I'm new to setting up forums and have successfully setup my forums.

To backup my SQL databaase I've been using 'MySQLBackupFTP' and have been backing up regularly. I now need to restore using my latest backup. How do I do this?

I have tried using the phpBB3 'Maintenance' but my backup is not showing. I did copy my backup file into the 'Store' folder using 'Filezilla'. I tried this both as an SQL text file and as a gz file.

How do I manually restore the backup or is there a third party program that will do this?

I'd be grateful for any help with this.

Thanks.

JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn

Re: Restoring Forums Backup Manually

Post by JimA » Tue May 24, 2016 10:29 am

You should use a program like phpMyAdmin to import your database back-up to your database.
This program is specifically designed for database administration.

If it is too big to import manually, try using BigDump.
See this article for more info: Knowledge Base - Using Bigdump to restore large database dumps
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Post by Mick » Tue May 24, 2016 11:25 am

I'd be inclined to use phpMyAdmin to back up the database and, as Jim said, use BigDump to restore the database. The relevant section of this has the relevant settings for a phpMyAdmin backup.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.