Moving Forum to New Host

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
goss

Moving Forum to New Host

Post by goss »

Hello, I am a novice and am in charge of a phpBB forum V 3.0.11. My host has given notice so I have moved and need to rebuild my website which I have inherited as it is very cluttered. My concern is obtaining a complete backup of the forum so I can send it to my new space.

I am currently using Dreamweaver CS3 and can see forum files but cant find database etc. What is the best way to backup phpBB as I am worried that fixing a poor backup once sent to my new host will be beyond my skills.

Regards

Goss
Lumpy Burgertushie

Re: Moving Forum to New Host

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

you have to get the database backup from the old host.

if you have cpanel on the old host, there is a backup option . choose the partial backup.

then click each button and back that up to your computer. then go back and choose the next button and make that backup to your computer etc.

or, you can ask your old host for the backups to see if they will do it for you.

and, if none of that works, you can follow the instructions found here to do it manually:
Transferring Your Board to a New Host or Domain

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
goss

Post by goss »

That's great, thanks.

Goss
juliokr

Post by juliokr »

If I would be at your place I would take the opinion to update to a more recent version of phpBB at the same time
david63

Post by david63 »

Some hosts will offer a service to move a site fron your old host to the new one - it might be worth asking them
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!