mbstring.http_input must be set to pass

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
daryl.sr
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:03 am

mbstring.http_input must be set to pass

Post by daryl.sr »

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.12
What is your board's URL? indofishingteam.com
Who do you host your board with? Bluehost
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? Yes
Do you have any extensions installed? Yes
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.0.7-PL1
What MODs do you have installed? NV advanced last topic titles
PHPBB Gallery
Portal
What extensions do you have installed? No answer given
What styles do you currently have installed? Prosilver SE
What language(s) is your board currently using? Indonesia
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? New to PHP but not phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What password can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? I red all topics in phpbb regarding my issue and tried to solve it.
As php_value won't work in htaccess, I contacted BlueHost's tech support and ask him to add the code in php.ini. He said its script issue, he doesn't know what code to add and basically won't allow any change to PHP.ini.
Please describe your problem. I just migrate my website to Bluehost a week ago, Plus Plan. A warning showed up in my admin page:
- - - - - - - - -
HTTP input character conversion is improperly configured
mbstring.http_input must be set to pass. You can check the current value on the PHP information page.
HTTP output character conversion is improperly configured
mbstring.http_output must be set to pass. You can check the current value on the PHP information page.
- - - - - - - - -


Please help
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18580
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: mbstring.http_input must be set to pass

Post by david63 »

There are two issues here
daryl.sr wrote:I contacted BlueHost's tech support and ask him to add the code in php.ini. He said its script issue, he doesn't know what code to a
The "tech guy" sounds pretty useless to be as there is a php.ini variable that needs setting. You may have the ability to change it yourself vis your Control Panel - some allow you to make changes and some don't. If you cannot change it yourself the contact BlueHost's support again but ask for level two - they should know what to do.

The second point is
daryl.sr wrote:basically won't allow any change to PHP.ini.
Now that is a different matter and may be their [current] policy - although I cannot see it as there are many boards hosted on BlueHost.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
daryl.sr
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:03 am

Re: mbstring.http_input must be set to pass

Post by daryl.sr »

i will try that.
What code should they add in php.ini?
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68294
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: mbstring.http_input must be set to pass

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

that is why you need level two support. they will know.

this is something that most phpbb boards require and bluehost has thousands of phpbb boards working on their servers, so it seems that your particular server is just not setup correctly.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”