Updating from 3.012 to new version

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
time-lord

Updating from 3.012 to new version

Post by time-lord »

Currently using version 3.012 on our board, www.watchlords.com. is there a compelling reason to upgrade to the newer versions?

Also I wanted to add language packs as well as add a new style or two to the forum. Currently I have my own VPS so I can do as I wish performance wise. How difficult is it to do what I mentioned. I am not a developer, my hobby is watches. My expertise is as a computer sales engineer but the days of my programming are long behind me.
JimA
Former Team Member
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn

Re: Updating from 3.012 to new version

Post by JimA »

Hi! There's one very compelling reason to want to upgrade to a new version and that's the support for the version your currently using (phpBB 3.0.x) will be dropped completely in two weeks. I'd strongly advice you to upgrade soon. These upgrades are relatively easy, but be aware that you can't take custom MODs and styles with you. You'll have to rebuild your board with styles/extensions created for 3.1.x or higher.
Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Former Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Post by KevC »

EDIT: Jim just beat me but I'd already written this so I'll post it anyway.
time-lord wrote: is there a compelling reason to upgrade to the newer versions?
Support for 3.0 ends in 2 weeks time.