Jabber Problems

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
cooleo100d
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:49 pm
Contact:

Post by cooleo100d »

cheater512 wrote: When I tried it on a test board it worked beautifully.

It allows topic notifications to come via IM instead of e-mail. Very cool. :)
Also people can send you messages via Jabber from the board.

Hey, what exactly is Jabber. Can it like send you notifications via AIM?
User avatar
cheater512
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:27 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by cheater512 »

Jabber is the Linux of Instant Messaging. :wink:
It is a free and open network which noone controls and anyone can use.
To be frank it owns MSN, AIM and the others too. The ability to send messages when someone is offline owns.

The other IM networks are not supported by this feature as they are closed.
Noone else can use them. No not even phpBB.
cooleo100d
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:49 pm
Contact:

Post by cooleo100d »

cheater512 wrote: Jabber is the Linux of Instant Messaging. :wink:
It is a free and open network which noone controls and anyone can use.
To be frank it owns MSN, AIM and the others too. The ability to send messages when someone is offline owns.

The other IM networks are not supported by this feature as they are closed.
Noone else can use them. No not even phpBB.

Ah, thanks for the info.
Kirsty2
Registered User
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:08 am

Post by Kirsty2 »

cheater512 wrote: When I tried it on a test board it worked beautifully.

It allows topic notifications to come via IM instead of e-mail. Very cool. :)
Also people can send you messages via Jabber from the board.
So what settings did you use please so that i can try them?
User avatar
cheater512
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:27 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by cheater512 »

Kirsty2 wrote: So what settings did you use please so that i can try them?

I used my own private server sorry so you cant test it using my settings.
Kirsty2
Registered User
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:08 am

Post by Kirsty2 »

Could one of the software support people please answer? Do i really have to beg? :(
User avatar
naderman
Consultant
Consultant
Posts: 3736
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 10:06 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Name: Nils Adermann
Contact:

Post by naderman »

thunder88 wrote: Well I didn't have any errors in my ACP but when I tried to enter my Jabber name in my UCP I got this error:
The name you entered is not a valid jabber account name.

Are you sure the jabber id you entered was of the format name@server.tld? (has to be that format in UCP, ACP takes username and server seperately)

Kristy2: Have you tried jabber.org as a server? What username did you try?
I appreciate gifts from my Amazon wishlist.
naderman.de twitter: @naderman
thunder88
Registered User
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:38 am

Post by thunder88 »

naderman wrote:
thunder88 wrote:Well I didn't have any errors in my ACP but when I tried to enter my Jabber name in my UCP I got this error:
The name you entered is not a valid jabber account name.

Are you sure the jabber id you entered was of the format name@server.tld? (has to be that format in UCP, ACP takes username and server seperately)

Kristy2: Have you tried jabber.org as a server? What username did you try?

Thanks, that was the problem. :) Question: Do all my members need to use the same server?
User avatar
cheater512
Registered User
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:27 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by cheater512 »

Nope. Thats the beauty of Jabber.
Hundreds of servers all indepenantly operated and you can use any server to talk to anyone on any other server. :lol:

Like I said I use my own server so my Jabber id is the same as my e-mail address.
Gmail is the same - your Gmail account details can be used as a Jabber account.
Kirsty2
Registered User
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:08 am

Post by Kirsty2 »

naderman wrote: Kristy2: Have you tried jabber.org as a server? What username did you try?
Yes i have. I've tried LOTS of names, ranging from Kirsty, (and then a bunch of numnbers eg) Kirsty094809583908, i've tried things that don't exsist, there is no way that it's because i'm choosing the same username as someone else.

Any other ideas?
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Post by ToonArmy »

It works fine for me using jabber.org, your host maybe blocking outgoing connections from the server you are hosted on.
Chris SmithGitHub
User avatar
Alban2
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:58 am
Location: Kalmar Län - Sweden

Post by Alban2 »

Ok, I have tried this Jabber thing, and it sends messages (atleast it tells me so), but they don't show up. So my question is, where do I see it when a message has been sent through Jabber :?:
DeadEye686
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 1:29 am

Post by DeadEye686 »

ToonArmy wrote: It works fine for me using jabber.org, your host maybe blocking outgoing connections from the server you are hosted on.


Indeed, it looks like sockets may be disabled by your host.
User avatar
Alban2
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:58 am
Location: Kalmar Län - Sweden

Post by Alban2 »

I was in contact with my host last night, which checked up the Jabber for me, and as what I was told it was nothing blocked for using it. So, what I now wonder is could it be the jabber server I'm connected to, or do I need to try another server, and if which one :?:
Kirsty2
Registered User
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:08 am

Post by Kirsty2 »

Same story with me as the above person.

I've tried several of the ones listed, and none work, but host assures nothing is blocking it.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”