Captchas and Human Readability

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Xore
Former Team Member
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:42 pm
Location: the wastelands between insomnia and clairvoyance
Contact:

Captchas and Human Readability

Post by Xore » Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:27 am

(Cross-posted from area51)

OK. This needs to be addressed, since i've gotten a lot of negative feedback on the captchas. I'd like to start making the captchas a little more human readable.

If you come across a generated captcha image that you deem as unreadable, please identify it, save it and post it for me, along with a description of why you believe it's unreadable (assuming it's not completely obvious, which it sometimes will be).

I'll try to address the issues, assuming it's possible.
Camels in the Mist
<noise type="random" source="camel" />
Cash Mod

Frold
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 8:19 am

Post by Frold » Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:46 am

Couldnt you have a option where the user could set the grade of "friendliness"?

Personally I like it to be very easy to read but I would like to have the function (ATM at my live board I have disabled it because it was too unfriendly)...

I would rather delete an extra user account than miss a person signup - but I would like to have some kind of protection...

I hope it makes a little sense...

ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Post by ToonArmy » Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:45 am

A large number of changes have been made for Beta 2 ;)
Chris SmithBlogGitHub
Image
In a foreign field he lay. Lonely soldier unknown grave. On his dying words he prays. Tell the world of Paschendale.

ZaraX
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by ZaraX » Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:25 pm

Entropy: Some letters are just to unclear, I dotn even know if they should be included or not.

Overlap: We dont know wich pattern to read and if the sign is a I or a 1.

Shape: The symbols next to the line of code should be more clear.

Embross 1: Nice!

Embross 2: Nice!

Cells: Nice!

Composite: Nice idea building the signs with signs.

Stencil: Easy if noone is unlucky enough to read the read and green signs.

Honeycomb: Ordinary one, nothing special about it.

All these feedbacks are given to the testpage you put up ;)

[EDIT] Some of them are totaly unreadable in Heavy version! Especialy Honeycomb[/EDIT]

muse-ic
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:21 am

Post by muse-ic » Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:21 pm

but if you play with the settings, you can get it just right for the users of your board....so what's the problem?

ZaraX
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by ZaraX » Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:25 pm

Well, whats the point of having a heavy version if it aint possible to see anything?

User avatar
webmacster87
Former Team Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:30 am
Location: San Mateo, CA
Name: Douglas Bell
Contact:

Post by webmacster87 » Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:25 am

ZaraX wrote: Well, whats the point of having a heavy version if it aint possible to see anything?

I guess because the computer can't see anything either, lol. Or can it?

Xore
Former Team Member
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:42 pm
Location: the wastelands between insomnia and clairvoyance
Contact:

Post by Xore » Tue Jul 18, 2006 3:49 am

ZaraX wrote: [EDIT] Some of them are totaly unreadable in Heavy version! Especialy Honeycomb[/EDIT]


... honeycomb isn't even in CVS yet
Camels in the Mist
<noise type="random" source="camel" />
Cash Mod

MORT A POTTY
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 9:21 pm
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by MORT A POTTY » Sat Jul 22, 2006 5:07 pm

muse-ic wrote: but if you play with the settings, you can get it just right for the users of your board....so what's the problem?
the problem is it's also a pain in the ass to check. you gotta go back to the user registration page, which you can't do by being logged in, so best to use a second browser... but, it should give you a few sample captchas on the page IMO.

but still, I've got all my settings on light and still get complaints it's too hard.

I'm glad they're addressing this in beta 2.
~Stephen~

User avatar
webmacster87
Former Team Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:30 am
Location: San Mateo, CA
Name: Douglas Bell
Contact:

Post by webmacster87 » Sat Jul 22, 2006 5:32 pm

Yeah. There's a new captcha admin panel currently in CVS that provides demos and greater control over each captcha.

ZaraX
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by ZaraX » Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:14 pm

Xore wrote:
ZaraX wrote:[EDIT] Some of them are totaly unreadable in Heavy version! Especialy Honeycomb[/EDIT]


... honeycomb isn't even in CVS yet


Well it look like honeycomb though:

Image

matthewf
Registered User
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:39 pm

Post by matthewf » Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:34 pm

in the CVS version 3D bitmap is horrible, I can read anything on it very well

http://www.matthewfarmery.net/temp3/3D_bitmap.gif

plus there no options to change it, just on or off

User avatar
webmacster87
Former Team Member
Posts: 3758
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:30 am
Location: San Mateo, CA
Name: Douglas Bell
Contact:

Post by webmacster87 » Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:41 pm

ZaraX wrote:
Xore wrote:
ZaraX wrote:[EDIT] Some of them are totaly unreadable in Heavy version! Especialy Honeycomb[/EDIT]


... honeycomb isn't even in CVS yet


Well it look like honeycomb though:

Image

What the heck that cannot be a CAPTCHA. @_@
Where did you get that from?

User avatar
Lastof
Registered User
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Lastof » Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:20 am

That's Entropy on high pixel noise.

I can't get it like that in cvs anymore, so, I assume it was fixed. However, you can get it in beta1.

I'm yet to manage to work out the letters in one like that. I doubt a bot could either. So, it works ALMOST perfectly. :wink:
Last edited by Lastof on 04 May 2011, 00:00, edited -1 times in total
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Image
Look, I'm officially not a bug!!

EscapeYourMind
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 10:16 pm

Post by EscapeYourMind » Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:05 pm

lol I'm suprised no one has made a captcha that uses the magic eye technique.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”