Remove Shadow topic

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
JoaoVr
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:43 pm

Remove Shadow topic

Post by JoaoVr » Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:26 pm

After I move a topic in phpbb3 how do I remove the shadowtopic leaved in place?

I went to Moderator Control Panel but i cant delete that!

Shadow Topic:
Image

Moderator Control Panel:
Image

Best Reg,

João

Grinch
Registered User
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 5:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by Grinch » Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:39 pm

I don't think this is possible even in phpBB2.

MegaMan1311
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 1:17 am
Contact:

Post by MegaMan1311 » Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:12 pm

In 2, I found that if you move the shadow to the same forum that the topic is now in, it will delete the shadow. I'm not sure if it works in 3.

matthewf
Registered User
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:39 pm

Post by matthewf » Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:58 pm

or moving the now moved original topic back to the forum that you moved it from, either works, and nice trick MegaMan1311 as I didn't know that until now

in phpbb2 if you deleted the shadow topic you would delete the moved topic that it was attached too, but that above trick works nicely for deleting shadow topics even in 3 :D

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Post by karlsemple » Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:26 am

in phpBB2 you can remove the shadow topic via the moderator control panel, just as a point of interest without it removing the original topic and the same applies to phpBB3 you can delete the shadow topic from the moderator control panel without it deleting the original topic :)
Image

matthewf
Registered User
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:39 pm

Post by matthewf » Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:50 pm

WOW so you can, you learn something new every day, thanks for that karlsemple :D thats good to hear and I tested it, works a treat 8)

User avatar
JoaoVr
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:43 pm

Post by JoaoVr » Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:05 pm

But if you check my second screen shot there is no way of sellecting shadow topic!

matthewf
Registered User
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:39 pm

Post by matthewf » Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:24 pm

what version of phpbb3 beta are you using? am using beta four and it works fine, if you can duplicate this issue it probably be a good idea to submit it to the bug tracker, as for me the shadow topic does display fine in the MCP, (PS what did you use to move the topic? quick tools or MCP? and did you select the correct forum which the shadow topic is in?

User avatar
bantu
3.0 Release Manager
3.0 Release Manager
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:58 pm
Name: Andreas Fischer

Post by bantu » Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:25 pm

JoaoVr wrote: But if you check my second screen shot there is no way of sellecting shadow topic!


Which Version do you use? Beta x or CVS?
karlsemple wrote: in phpBB2 you can remove the shadow topic via the moderator control panel, just as a point of interest without it removing the original topic and the same applies to phpBB3 you can delete the shadow topic from the moderator control panel without it deleting the original topic :)


I remember reading something in the bug-tracker related to dhn.

There was a problem with displaying moved topics in the MCP.
dhn advised the devs to simply ignore moved topics in MCP, which now could be related to this, if he (JoaoVr) uses CVS.

I'm not sure anyway.

Regards,
bantu

User avatar
bantu
3.0 Release Manager
3.0 Release Manager
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:58 pm
Name: Andreas Fischer

Post by bantu » Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:32 pm

I found the Bug, it was bug 7000 :wink:
dhn was the reporter.

http://www.phpbb.com/bugs/viewreport.php?b=7000

matthewf
Registered User
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:39 pm

Post by matthewf » Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:36 pm

then the only thing you can really do is either A move the shadow topic to the moved topic's new forum or vice verser, it seems then that what karlsemple said won't apply to the recent CVS anymore. at least if I read that bug report correctly?

unless that also applies to the quick tools as well?

User avatar
bantu
3.0 Release Manager
3.0 Release Manager
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:58 pm
Name: Andreas Fischer

Post by bantu » Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:42 pm

matthewf wrote: then the only thing you can really do is either A move the shadow topic to the moved topic's new forum or vice verser, it seems then that what karlsemple said won't apply to the recent CVS anymore. at least if I read that bug report correctly?

I don't think that not being able to remove shadow topics is intended.
I think maybe they forgot about it.
Maybe you want to report it as a bug.

User avatar
JoaoVr
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:43 pm

Post by JoaoVr » Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:04 pm

I use 3.0.B5-dev :roll:

starware
Registered User
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:41 am

Post by starware » Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:09 pm

JoaoVr wrote: I use 3.0.B5-dev :roll:
That's CVS then since there is no "beta5-dev" however the CVS is the development code for beta5
Pardon my bad english, I'm american. :P

matthewf
Registered User
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:39 pm

Post by matthewf » Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:24 pm

bantu wrote:
matthewf wrote:then the only thing you can really do is either A move the shadow topic to the moved topic's new forum or vice verser, it seems then that what karlsemple said won't apply to the recent CVS anymore. at least if I read that bug report correctly?

I don't think that not being able to remove shadow topics is intended.
I think maybe they forgot about it.
Maybe you want to report it as a bug.


I will report this as a bug, and update this topic when a dev replies, its also possible that they didn't forget this but couldn't implement it for some reason in the CVS version, but anyway will report this and we will find out soon enough,

Edit


Done http://www.phpbb.com/bugs/viewreport.php?b=7316 if anyone wants to add anything, please be my guest

Edit

the report has been assigned to Acyd Burn, so it must have been a bug afterall, lets hope he can fix it :D

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”