Can we Actualy use it ?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
mkidd12
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:53 pm

Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by mkidd12 »

Can we use this or not this version 3 as it says Note: This release is not final and made available for testing purposes only. Can we use it on our sites as a forum or not ?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69918
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by KevC »

You should not use phpBB3 beta live, no.

You can install it and try it out though.

You will be able to use it live when RC1 is released.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

mkidd12
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:53 pm

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by mkidd12 »

when is that coming out ?

User avatar
Lastof
Registered User
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by Lastof »

"When it's ready"

I'm afraid that we don't have any other answer than that, we just have to be patient.
Last edited by Lastof on 04 May 2011, 00:00, edited -1 times in total
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Image
Look, I'm officially not a bug!!

User avatar
StaticFX
Registered User
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:33 pm

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by StaticFX »

i would wiegh it depending on the use... got a LARGE forum with many users? NO dont do it..

got a small one? go for it.

Im using it.. with my whopping member base of 24! and its working well.. besides a few permission issues. The permission section is VERY confusing... and can cause problems (locks everything) but other than that its great

check it out: =spam=

I have changed almost everything in the subsilver style to suit my own tastes.
Last edited by -jm- on Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: spam removed

User avatar
-jm-
Former Team Member
Posts: 2025
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Inside the mind of the machine
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by -jm- »

please remember that users using beta5 live will have no support :)
-jm- (a.k.a. juanm) - *NO* private support
Hacked?
With so many beautiful colors in the world it’s a shame to make everything black and white - Dennis R. Little
my links: tips&stuff :: stuff only

samureye
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:27 pm

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by samureye »

I'm interested in using it - I don't care quite honestly, heh. I just want to know that once the stable version is ready, will I lose all the info that I have in terms of registered users or does the release of RC1 mean I have to download that separately and start over?

Also, "when it's ready" could mean SOMETHING. Is there any idea of a time? This year? Next 3 months? Anything?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69918
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by KevC »

No there is no indication at all of when it will come out.
RC1 looks fairly close but things can change.

RC1 will come with a phpBB2>3 converter which will convert your database (ie users, posts, forums, PMs etC) to a phpBB3 one.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
StaticFX
Registered User
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:33 pm

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by StaticFX »

I thought RC1 would also have a B5 > RC1 converter?

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69918
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by KevC »

We don't know that for sure yet. But hey, as everyone's read the instructions and not using it live, you wouldn't need one would you ;)

If there is an updater from B5 to RC1 then it already been stated that it will not be supported.

Only installs from RC1 will be supported.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17779
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by david63 »

I think Kevin that if you read Acyd Burn's post regarding support from beta to RC you will find that there will be a converter but, as you say, if used then the rseultant forum will not be supported.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: Can we Actualy use it ?

Post by karlsemple »

david63 wrote: I think Kevin that if you read Acyd Burn's post regarding support from beta to RC you will find that there will be a converter but, as you say, if used then the rseultant forum will not be supported.



that is correct, as the beta converter was full of bugs, and as such the bugs could possibly result in some unexpected behaviour and thus not supported :)
Image

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”