How to use google ads in phpbb3

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
nirajnagar
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: India
Contact:

How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by nirajnagar »

Dear Support Forum,

Very First I congratulate all the development team member for creating phpBB. It is simple awesome.
I have created forum based on phpBB 3. [link removed] currently only 7 members :D .

I want to put google ad on the forum. how to do this please help. Please also tell from where i can get new style.

Regards,
Niraj
Last edited by pentapenguin on Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: A link to your site isn't necessary
Niraj Nagar
www.devquery.com - Its free and proudly INDIAN
An Online forum dedicated to INDIAN IT Professional

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17080
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by david63 »

OK three answers:

1 - Your link does not work.

2 - Mods are not supported until phpbb3 goes to RC (maybe)/gold.

3 - There is no support for phpbb3 beta forums run in a live environment.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69563
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by KevC »

phpBB3 should not be used live yet as it is only at the beta stage (it says that quite clearly in a number of places). As such, changes to the code, such as adding google ads, is not supported.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
nirajnagar
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by nirajnagar »

Is it possible to use google ads in phpbb?. any version.

I guess i am testing phpBB 3 in live. ;)
Niraj Nagar
www.devquery.com - Its free and proudly INDIAN
An Online forum dedicated to INDIAN IT Professional

User avatar
nirajnagar
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by nirajnagar »

Is it possible to use google ads in phpbb?. any version.
Niraj Nagar
www.devquery.com - Its free and proudly INDIAN
An Online forum dedicated to INDIAN IT Professional

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69563
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by KevC »

Yes a lot of phpBB2 forums have google ads in them. There are KB articles explaining which files to edit. You just can't/shouldn't be doing it with phpBB3 yet and as such you're already out of the loop for any future support with your live installation.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
nirajnagar
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by nirajnagar »

Dear Support Team

I agree to your terms and conditions. Is it possible to go back to the previous version and how?

Can u give some estimated time for phpbb3 full version.

Regards,
Niraj
Niraj Nagar
www.devquery.com - Its free and proudly INDIAN
An Online forum dedicated to INDIAN IT Professional

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by karlsemple »

nirajnagar wrote: Dear Support Team

I agree to your terms and conditions. Is it possible to go back to the previous version and how?

Can u give some estimated time for phpbb3 full version.

Regards,
Niraj



If you have upgraded to phpBB3 live you are on your own and that includes down grading back to phpBB2. Your only hope is if you have a very recent backup of the phpBB2 database and then you can re-install phpBB2 fresh and restore the backup.
Image

linda_MY
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:39 am

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by linda_MY »

Oh,My!
I have totally the same problem with Niraj, I am new to phpbb, so I just download the lastest version 3.0 and make it live.
Now I just know it is not supposed to be use live. I have to delete all the code and clear the database ,then re-install the version2.0....Oh,My! headache...

here is my forum: I have registered members and many postes already
http://www.havehotel.com/2nd/forum/

But seems I have to use 2.0, because I want make more changes to this forum...is the support for 3.0 coming soon?
Last edited by linda_MY on Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17080
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by david63 »

Support for phpbb3 will be available when phpbb3 goes to RC (and please do ask when that will be because nobody knows - it will be when it will be)

As for your forum I do not think that you will be loosing that much with 20 posts and 4 members!
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69563
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by KevC »

linda_MY wrote: Now I just know it is not supposed to be use live. I have to delete all the code and clear the database ,then re-install the version2.0....Oh,My! headache...

It does tell you that twice on the announcement page and at the start of the installation (and maybe even at the end too).
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

linda_MY
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:39 am

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by linda_MY »

david63 wrote: Support for phpbb3 will be available when phpbb3 goes to RC (and please do ask when that will be because nobody knows - it will be when it will be)

As for your forum I do not think that you will be loosing that much with 20 posts and 4 members!


I really thanks for PHPBB offer us this truely FREE forum, just want make the service better...no other negative thinking..because I have send tons of mails out to let my friends know my forum address.And played a whole day install it and publish something ,create category, and looking for information ,copy ,paste there...I am not PHP guru and a professional programmer, so when I get know it is difficult to change the forum, so..now you know i didn't really loose much...but it is okay, I think I am not complain,just try to express my emotion when I saw this post.thats all about.

User avatar
sdteam
Registered User
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:41 pm

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by sdteam »

Find

Code: Select all

<div class="copyright">Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/">phpBB</a> {PHPBB_VERSION} &copy; 2002-2006 phpBB Group
Add After

Code: Select all

  <div class="copyright">
<br>GOOGLE CODE IN HERE<br/>


Should end up looking like this

Code: Select all

	<div class="copyright">Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/">phpBB</a> {PHPBB_VERSION} &copy; 2002-2006 phpBB Group
	<div class="copyright">
                 <br>YOUR GOOGLE CODE<br/>
		<!-- IF TRANSLATION_INFO --><br />{TRANSLATION_INFO}<!-- ENDIF -->
		<!-- IF DEBUG_OUTPUT --><br />{DEBUG_OUTPUT}<!-- ENDIF -->
		<!-- IF U_ACP --><br /><strong><a href="{U_ACP}">{L_ACP}</a></strong><!-- ENDIF -->
	</div>
</div>

</div>

<div><a id="bottom" name="bottom" accesskey="z"></a></div>

</body>
</html>
Image

linda_MY
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:39 am

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by linda_MY »

Hi,sdteam

What's the name of the file? thanks... :D

User avatar
sdteam
Registered User
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:41 pm

Re: How to use google ads in phpbb3

Post by sdteam »

o shoot sorry lol its the overrall_footer
Image

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”