500 server error when I try to convert

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut »

There is the admin userlist MOD by wGEric (allows deleting up to 25 users at a time, I think), and also the Admin Toolkit from starfoxtj. Both can be found by searching this board :)
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

magicfun
Registered User
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:50 pm

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by magicfun »

I've tried the set_time_limit trick with all numbers, with IE and firefox, to no avail.

I'm hosted on powweb. I still cannot convert my database as it goes to the 500 internal server error page.

Any hope or answers for me?

fanzing
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:36 am
Location: Rochester, MN
Contact:

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by fanzing »

That was the same problem I had. My site is on Powweb.

It worked once I weeded out my spam users. When the list went from 4000 down to 30, then it didn't time out. Now, it may be that that was just a coincidence and it was something else. I'm not an expert at this.

My suspicion is that Powweb has a very low setting that interferes with the amount of time we need for processing.
Michael Hutchison, Comic Book Writer
http://www.thehutch.com

magicfun
Registered User
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:50 pm

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by magicfun »

hmm...good to know. I have about 4200 users myself, a lot are spam accounts...I'll try to see if deleting some would do any good. Thanks.

If anyone else has any answers to this, my ears are open. Thanks!

fanzing
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:36 am
Location: Rochester, MN
Contact:

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by fanzing »

What you want to do is get the Prune Users mod. I had some difficulty installing it (read through my adventures on that thread so you don't duplicate my mistakes), but once I had it in it was the work of minutes to clean out my spam users.
Michael Hutchison, Comic Book Writer
http://www.thehutch.com

Amezis
Registered User
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by Amezis »

Alright, this might sound weird, but I (the topic starter) also had problems upgrading my board, even with the timeout mod! I fixed it with a very strange fix; I used an older file of includes/utf/utf_tools.php.

You can try to use the same version of the file as me, and see if that works.

Download here:
http://www.global-rs.com/downloads/utf_fix.zip

Remember to take a backup of your current utf_tools.php file!!
Amezis

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -Plato

magicfun
Registered User
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:50 pm

Re: 500 server error when I try to convert

Post by magicfun »

all -- once I deleted most of my spam users from my database, I no longer had the 500 internal server error. Thanks for the suggestion!

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”