YouTube BBCode?

Get help developing custom BBCodes or request one.

YouTube BBCode?

Postby Datsun » Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:18 pm

hi, i tryed to make a youtube bbcode, but it does not seem to work.

This is what i have done:

BBCode usage:
[youtube]{URL}[/youtube]


HTML replacement:
<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="{URL}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="{URL}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>


do i have to enable html or something?
Datsun
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby karlsemple » Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:23 pm

Code: Select all
[youtube]{IDENTIFIER}[/youtube]




Code: Select all
<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{IDENTIFIER}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{TEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>




Then you do not use the URI but just the video id as show below in my example,
for this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Asm7WOi8ux8 video you use

Code: Select all
[youtube]Asm7WOi8ux8[/youtube]
Image
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby Datsun » Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:37 pm

thanks :D

that works like a charm
Datsun
Registered User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby karlsemple » Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:39 pm

Datsun wrote:thanks :D

that works like a charm




That is by no means the only way of getting them to work by the way, I am sure people will have plenty of other methods so you may want to look about the forum for other methods, I know however there is a small bug in the bbcode parsing at the moment which is interfering with some of the other methods which is why I am doing it as above on my forum, its simple and works :)
Image
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby SlickAxe » Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:45 pm

Heej Thanks!

Was looking for this, works just fine! :D
SlickAxe
Registered User
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 12:34 pm

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby polle » Mon Jun 11, 2007 2:34 am

Any Idea in how to do the same, but using

Code: Select all
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Asm7WOi8ux8[/youtube]


Instead of

Code: Select all
[youtube]Asm7WOi8ux8[/youtube]


Because all the youtube videos already posted in my site are with the complete address.

Thanks.
polle
Registered User
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:18 am

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby Marshalrusty » Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:33 am

Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs
Forumatic - Hassle-free phpBB Forum Hosting
User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
 
Posts: 28592
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby hewmac06 » Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:57 am

With RC1 using the code below I get two identical working Youtube screens for some reason.

karlsemple wrote:
Code: Select all
[youtube]{IDENTIFIER}[/youtube]

Code: Select all
<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{IDENTIFIER}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{TEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>


Then you do not use the URI but just the video id as show below in my example,
for this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Asm7WOi8ux8 video you use
Code: Select all
[youtube]Asm7WOi8ux8[/youtube]
User avatar
hewmac06
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Australia
Name: Hugh

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby karlsemple » Mon Jun 11, 2007 7:01 am

screen shot of the actual bbcode editing page in the admin panel?
Image
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby hewmac06 » Mon Jun 11, 2007 7:14 am

karlsemple wrote:screen shot of the actual bbcode editing page in the admin panel?

Image
User avatar
hewmac06
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Australia
Name: Hugh

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby karlsemple » Mon Jun 11, 2007 7:21 am

it is obvious from that screen shot that you have pasted the html replacement part twice into the box
Image
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby Simuzer » Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:37 am

i have a problem bbcode of youtube...

i use that..

Code: Select all
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={IDENTIFIER}[/youtube]


Code: Select all
<center><object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{IDENTIFIER}"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{IDENTIFIER}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"></embed></object></center>


Code: Select all
[youtube]YouTube Full URL[/youtube]


if URL BBCode is closed by admin control panel, its shown that youtube video. But, when i sent any topic with URL, it is not shown link.

if URL BBcode is opened by admin control panel, its shown that link, but is not shown youtube video.

Image

Image
i am on phpBB.Com since Dec 06, 2001
http://www.phpbbturkiye.net | Turkish phpBB Support
http://www.simuzer.com | phpBB3 Premod
User avatar
Simuzer
Registered User
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2001 12:06 pm

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby karlsemple » Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:41 am

karlsemple wrote:
Code: Select all
[youtube]{IDENTIFIER}[/youtube]




Code: Select all
<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{IDENTIFIER}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{TEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>




Then you do not use the URI but just the video id as show below in my example,
for this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Asm7WOi8ux8 video you use

Code: Select all
[youtube]Asm7WOi8ux8[/youtube]



This is the way you have to do it, using the URI as you are in your example above will not work as due to the parsing order of the bbcodes :) Not sure if this is going to be changed in the future as I know this was submitted as a bug :)
Image
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby Megh789 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:16 pm

nice one...thanx...woking great.
Megh789
Registered User
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: YouTube BBCode?

Postby eddywatson » Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:29 pm

ive a problem. i used that new BBcode

and sometimes it works fine, sometimes i need to add an " - " before the code i need to enter for the video
and sometimes i get an active X control option that makes the youtube video box go white with nothing in it.

any suggestions?

cheers
Image
OTHockey Forums
User avatar
eddywatson
Registered User
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:35 pm
Location: England

Next

Return to Custom BBCode Development and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest