It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby SlevinKelevra » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:11 pm

emeraldisle wrote:I had this problem as well. After reading this thread though I went into the php.ini file that my server uses. I downloaded it and opened it with notepad. I changed where it had:

allow_url_fopen = off

to

allow_url_fopen = on

Saved and uploaded and that fixed the problem.

Hope this helps others.

Emeraldisle


Cant seem to find that file anywhere? php.ini... Whats the default path for that? Or is it not in 3.0?
SlevinKelevra
Registered User
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:41 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby Axim999 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 3:21 am

Hmm.. Seems that I'm not the only one having this problem.
As I understand it, this is a security issue? In PhpBB 2 there was no such problem.

I'm really not sure what to do to solve this problem..
Is there any plans to change this back as it was in PhpBB 2, or change it as it worked in PhpBB 2 but still keep it secure? I do really hope to find a solution on this one soon.

Please if anyone know the magic ?

Best Regards,

Axim
Axim999
Registered User
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:10 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby Axim999 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:35 pm

It seems we're going nowhere with this one..
If the server provider does not allow 'allow_url_fopen = on' ... What next?
Really looking for solutions here..
Axim999
Registered User
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:10 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby SoonDead » Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:18 am

I use a free host and 'allow_url_fopen = off', so I cannot set image limitations in the admin panel or this error shows up. If I set width and height to 0, it works just fine.

But it would be nice to use them anyway.

The workaround also doesn't work.
User avatar
SoonDead
Registered User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:00 am
Location: Hungary
Name: Márton Vincze

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby smoth » Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:32 am

Yeah, I cannot even place attached images into posts with this d*rn bug, i am about to strip code out of phpbb, I just don't have the time tonight, I used to wonder why people dislike this forum software so much..
User avatar
smoth
Registered User
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:31 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby ric323 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:09 am

Just turn off image size checking, by going into the ACP, "General" tab
then under "Board configuration", "Post settings", set both
"Maximum image width per post:" and
"Maximum image height per post:" to zero.
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions
User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 22903
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby HerculePoirot » Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:17 am

sorry for this stupid question.. i'm testing 3.0.4 in my localhost and i'm still find the same problem, even thought my allow_url_fopen already set to on.

so what could be the cause of this?
HerculePoirot
Registered User
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:54 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby ameeck » Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:35 am

I don't suppose you would have getimagesize() disabled on your server installation?
User avatar
ameeck
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 6559
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:57 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Name: Vojtech Vondra

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby UltimaRaiden » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:46 am

I am having the same problem and am trying out some of the solutions suggested here. But the way I encountered this problem was interesting and I thought I should share it.


My story goes something like this:

I was testing out OnePress to integrate WordPress and phpBB3. Everything seemed to work fine except a problem occured in that it would throw 500 internal server errors whenever people tried to change their passwords.

I tracked down the problem to our server and added the following line to the .htaccess file:

AddType x-mapp-php5 .php

As I understand it, this forces my Apache server to use PHP5. By default, it was using PHP4, and the mod I had needed PHP5.

However after that, I started getting the image tag error mention in this thread, i.e. - "It was not possible to determine the dimension of the images." whenever size restrictions were set on the board.

So maybe it also has to do with php versions? Hope this helps some people.
UltimaRaiden
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:27 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby ric323 » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:19 pm

See what phpinfo is now reporting. It seems likely it doesn't have the same graphics processing mdules installed that PHP4 does.
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions
User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 22903
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby UltimaRaiden » Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:58 am

phpinfo from the admin CP says PHP ver. 4.4.9 without the extra line in .htaccess and PHP ver. 5.2.8 with, which sort of confirms that theory.

For my ver.5, allow_url_fopen is set to off.
UltimaRaiden
Registered User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:27 am

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby Surreal09 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:19 pm

To see your default php.ini settings, load the following lines of code into a server_info.php file and run the file in your browser:

Code: Select all
<?php phpinfo(); ?>


Ok i am still getting this error when i try to set an image for my Signature.

allow_url_fopen is ON and the getimagesize function works... I tested it with an image..

I am using phpBB 3.0.4... What else could be the problem? If this persists i won't be able to offer users their own Signature.

P.S - It works if i set the max image dimensions to UNLIMITED, but when i change it to 450x150, i get the error.
User avatar
Surreal09
Registered User
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:44 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby Bob276 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:37 pm

I have the same problems that everyone has with uploading images.

I am so damn confused and don't know what or what not to do at this point. You would think with the phpBB team they could tell us what to do or fix the forum to do what it is suppose to. I haven't even got to avaters yet, am I going to have the same problems there?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Bob276 on Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bob276
Registered User
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: Bon Aqua, TN.

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby Surreal09 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:51 pm

I never had any problems before, as soon as i do a fresh install this starts happening.. Really annoying how phpBb have this error.
User avatar
Surreal09
Registered User
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:44 pm

Re: It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image

Postby ric323 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:18 pm

Bob276 wrote:I have the same problems that everyone has with uploading images.

I am so damn confused and don't know what or what not to do at this point. You would think with the phpBB team they could tell us what to do or fix the forum to do what it is suppose to. I haven't even got to avaters yet, am I going to have the same problems there?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This works just fine on thousands of other servers. If it's not working on yours then it is a setup problem on your web server. We'll try to help you fix that, but you have to do your part and tell us about your installation so we can help you find the problem.
Please start your own topic, and fill out the Support Request Template to tell us about your installation.
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions
User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 22903
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric

PreviousNext

Return to 3.0.x Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AmigoJack, Google [Bot], trailcamgal and 93 guests

cron