phpBB3 - Whois Question

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by Ratmaster »

I'm not sure if this is a bug or not, but I am assuming it is not one since this is a very important feature.

Does the Whois work? I think I may have to edit something in the admin panel to make it work, but when I go into the Who Is Online area and I press Whois after the IP > and it brings up a box with nothing in it except a bar that says Whois and an empty box below it.

Info -
URL: http://www.twistedrpg.net
PHP: v5.1.6
phpBB Version: 3 RC2
Host: 110mb.com Box9

If more info is needed, just ask.

Thanks.
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18572
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by david63 »

Works OK for me
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by Ratmaster »

david63 wrote:Works OK for me
On my site? Are you using firefox? If you are wondering, I use the latest version...
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18572
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by david63 »

I cannot check on your site as I do not have permissions to do it - but have checked on two of my sites and no problem. Might be worth "Purging the cache"
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by Ratmaster »

david63 wrote:I cannot check on your site as I do not have permissions to do it - but have checked on two of my sites and no problem. Might be worth "Purging the cache"
Won't that remove all template edits done in the forum via admin panel?
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18572
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by david63 »

If you mean will Purging the cache remove all template edits done in the forum via admin panel - the answer is no. Anything that needs to be in the cache and is not there when needed is re created. Purging the cache is non destructive - it is there to speed up processing.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by Ratmaster »

Tried it, it still doesn't work. Make an account and I will try to give it whois permissions, just tell me the account name if you do.
User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut »

The whois facility is based on the ability to open a connection to an external server. This is not always possible due to web host restrictions.

If you cannot check for phpBB Updates (on the last tab in the ACP) this is almost certainly your problem.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish
User avatar
dirtmind
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:11 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by dirtmind »

Hi, I have exactly this problem. The Whois just appears not to work, my board can check for updates through the acp however. Did you ever find a solution?
Author of the FireFox BBCode Extension and the TweetMind twitter client
User avatar
Ratmaster
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by Ratmaster »

dirtmind wrote:Hi, I have exactly this problem. The Whois just appears not to work, my board can check for updates through the acp however. Did you ever find a solution?
Your host probably does not allow the feature that it requires to use...I'm not sure though.
Check with your host.
User avatar
dirtmind
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:11 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by dirtmind »

Ratmaster wrote:
dirtmind wrote:Hi, I have exactly this problem. The Whois just appears not to work, my board can check for updates through the acp however. Did you ever find a solution?
Your host probably does not allow the feature that it requires to use...I'm not sure though.
Check with your host.
I did a bit of investigation on this:

If I click an IP address in viewonline it does a dns lookup correctly
If I click an IP address in acp it does a dns lookup correctly
If I click the whois link in viewonline it shows a page with no info, just the whois title and footer
If I click the whois link in acp it shows a page with the dns lookup info and footer but no whois info

My host doesn't allow xmlrpc, is this the problem?
Author of the FireFox BBCode Extension and the TweetMind twitter client
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by ToonArmy »

dirtmind wrote:My host doesn't allow xmlrpc, is this the problem?
Your host doesn't allow connections out on port 43 this is the problem.
Chris SmithGitHub
User avatar
dirtmind
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:11 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 - Whois Question

Post by dirtmind »

ToonArmy wrote:
dirtmind wrote:My host doesn't allow xmlrpc, is this the problem?
Your host doesn't allow connections out on port 43 this is the problem.
Ok, thanks
Author of the FireFox BBCode Extension and the TweetMind twitter client
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”