RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
BigBlockMopar
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:15 pm

RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by BigBlockMopar »

... but I don't want to go to RC3 yet, because I have a live-forum that I don't want to possibly 'break' that with such a fresh and untested release yet. (I've got a few mods in there)

so, can I still do an auto-update from RC1 to RC2?
Signatures are overrated...
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by karlsemple »

Obviously going through the stages one by one I have not had such an error so can you explain what is happening exactly and what errors you are getting?

After dinner if you have not got a solution I will play about locally to see if I can find a fix
Image
BigBlockMopar
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:15 pm

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by BigBlockMopar »

I upload the update-files, hit the link in the ACP;
"Now start the update process by pointing your browser to the install folder."
And I just get a Notice and no further action seems possible.
Notice
Update files are out of date. The update files found are for updating from phpBB 3.0.RC1 to phpBB 3.0.RC2 but the latest version of phpBB is 3.0.RC3.
Last edited by BigBlockMopar on Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Signatures are overrated...
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70397
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by KevC »

BigBlockMopar wrote:... but I don't want to go to RC3 yet, because I have a live-forum that I don't want to possibly 'break' that with such a fresh and untested release yet. (I've got a few mods in there)

so, can I still do an auto-update from RC1 to RC2?
If there's something inherently unstable about it it tends to be found out pretty quickly (as happened with RC3 which was fixed in less than an hour).

I'd be inclined to say back up the database and the forum folder, wait a couple more days to see if anything nasty pops up and if it doesn't, go for it. :)
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
BigBlockMopar
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:15 pm

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by BigBlockMopar »

That's what I had in mind with RC2, but my own 'will' to upgrade took a little longer than I thought :D So when I noticed RC3 was out I decided to go ahead and upgrade my new RC1-forum.
Signatures are overrated...
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by karlsemple »

Try opening the install/install_update.php

and doing this

Got past that as well by replacing:

Code: Select all

          if (($latest_version = $cache->get('_version_info')) === false)
          {
             
             $cache->put('_version_info', $this->latest_version);
          }
          else
          {
             $this->latest_version = $latest_version;
          }
With:

Code: Select all

$this->latest_version = '3.0.RC2';
Image
BigBlockMopar
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:15 pm

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by BigBlockMopar »

Thanks, that worked flawlessly.
Had a couple of unchanged files, but I could take care of those with the FTP-function fairly easy after I figured out I had to type "/public_html/forum/" instead of "/forum/" in one of the fields.
But I'm running RC2 now and all seems to be working.
Signatures are overrated...
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by karlsemple »

BigBlockMopar wrote:Thanks, that worked flawlessly.
Had a couple of unchanged files, but I could take care of those with the FTP-function fairly easy after I figured out I had to type "/public_html/forum/" instead of "/forum/" in one of the fields.
But I'm running RC2 now and all seems to be working.

Bare in mind RC2 is not supported now as you should now update to RC3 as this contain numerous bug fixes from RC2 :)
Image
BigBlockMopar
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:15 pm

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by BigBlockMopar »

I'll update to RC3 as soon as the dust settles and all, if any, new errors have been addressed (in the CVS). 8-)
Signatures are overrated...
User avatar
iyeru42
Registered User
Posts: 1120
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:22 pm
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Re: RC1->RC2(Auto) forum wants to see RC3-update files instead..

Post by iyeru42 »

BigBlockMopar wrote:Thanks, that worked flawlessly.
Had a couple of unchanged files, but I could take care of those with the FTP-function fairly easy after I figured out I had to type "/public_html/forum/" instead of "/forum/" in one of the fields.
But I'm running RC2 now and all seems to be working.
That's because phpBB3's auto updater, as well as you, when it logs into the FTP... it starts with the root folder (above public_html.)
My Website | My MOD Requests | Foreign Key Docs (some topics are not requests)
"It's easy to rebel, but it's hard to be recognized."
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”