Domain problem on new forum

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 2:11 am

Hello everyone. I need your help

I just changed domain names and it seems the forum still takes ppl to the old domain name. even tho it is a new clean install.

http://www.viola-online.net/forum is the new domain and for some reason it takes ppl to http://www.poli-online.net/forum . I asked my host and they said it is some file in my /forum that is causing this, however they dint say what. So i reinstalled everything. Is there anyone who had this problem, or know what the problem is?

some users get this error.


Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

Most likely causes:
You are not connected to the Internet.
The website is encountering problems.
There might be a typing error in the address.

What you can try:
Diagnose Connection Problems

More information

This problem can be caused by a variety of issues, including:

Internet connectivity has been lost.
The website is temporarily unavailable.
The Domain Name Server (DNS) is not reachable.
The Domain Name Server (DNS) does not have a listing for the website's domain.
If this is an HTTPS (secure) address, click Tools, click Internet Options, click Advanced, and check to be sure the SSL and TLS protocols are enabled under the security section.

For offline users

You can still view subs


Thank you

cybrid23
Former Team Member
Posts: 9877
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest...
Contact:

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by cybrid23 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:41 pm

The domain is stored in the database.

You need to access your database with phpmyadmin or similar, and then manually change the domain

It's in the _config table, page 2 or 3.

Since, this is a support question, moving to support.
---Never leave home without a towel and your peril sensitive sunglasses.
---Do Not PM Me For Support. It will go unanswered.
Thanks.

User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:15 pm

hello. sorry for posting in the wrong section.

i checked the config_ table and i dont see anything about domain name. just

Edit Delete cookie_domain .viola-online.net 0
Edit Delete cookie_name phpbb3_a3q1u 0

cybrid23
Former Team Member
Posts: 9877
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest...
Contact:

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by cybrid23 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:25 pm

Bah. Sorry.

I was thinking 2.0.x..... :oops:

It's back on page 7 or so. It's a field called Server Name.
---Never leave home without a towel and your peril sensitive sunglasses.
---Do Not PM Me For Support. It will go unanswered.
Thanks.

User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:30 pm

Hello. thank you for replying so quick. it seems that the server name is as it should be

Edit Delete server_name http://www.viola-online.net

cybrid23
Former Team Member
Posts: 9877
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest...
Contact:

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by cybrid23 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:45 pm

Hmmm.....

There is a re-direct somewhere on your site.

This works:

http://www.viola-online.net/forum/index.php

As does this:

http://www.viola-online.net/forum/

This does not work:

http://www.viola-online.net/forum

Notice the difference. I suggest asking your host again, the forum appears to function fine with the first 2
---Never leave home without a towel and your peril sensitive sunglasses.
---Do Not PM Me For Support. It will go unanswered.
Thanks.

User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:08 pm

i asked them when problems first apeard. and they said it must be a file within my forum, however the forum install is New. ill ask them again.

thank you

User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:25 pm

this is the response i got from them
The reason this is happening has nothing to do with the domain settings
on your account - your webpages have the poli-online.net domain
hardcoded into the files (for example your index.html file has a link to
http://www.poli-online.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=3#3 in a refresh), so
you need to update the files on your website to reflect the new URL.

cybrid23
Former Team Member
Posts: 9877
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest...
Contact:

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by cybrid23 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:31 pm

Ok.

Check your site for an index.htm or index.html file in your forum folder.

If they are there, rename them to index.bak or similar.

If they are not there, ask your host where they think the index.html file is.
---Never leave home without a towel and your peril sensitive sunglasses.
---Do Not PM Me For Support. It will go unanswered.
Thanks.

User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:27 am

ok searched the /forum folder and found a bunch of index.htm and renamed them all. still the same problem.

cybrid23
Former Team Member
Posts: 9877
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest...
Contact:

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by cybrid23 » Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:35 am

M'k

Check for a .htaccess file
---Never leave home without a towel and your peril sensitive sunglasses.
---Do Not PM Me For Support. It will go unanswered.
Thanks.

User avatar
CipriaN0
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by CipriaN0 » Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:22 am

sorry, for the late reply, my pc crashed :D

i found a bunch of thouse files. should i delete them all? like there is one in almost every folder.

cybrid23
Former Team Member
Posts: 9877
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest...
Contact:

Re: Domain problem on new forum

Post by cybrid23 » Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:00 pm

I wouldn't delete them, but you can rename them and see what happens.

Note: Leave the one in the root of your site alone. But check what it's contents are.
---Never leave home without a towel and your peril sensitive sunglasses.
---Do Not PM Me For Support. It will go unanswered.
Thanks.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”