Page 1 of 1

how to test bots permissions?

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:54 am
by yakusha
I adding and deleting, and changing very much users permissiong...

all time, testing user permissions...

on acp -> manage users -> Select anonymous user...

and anonymous users testing...

but, how to testing bots permissions?

manage bot page, ı not finded a link for testing bots permissions... :o

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:14 am
by Brf
Try http://yourforumaddress/memberlist.php? ... ofile&u=14 to get to Googlebot's profile. Then you can click the test user link....
You can also go directly to http://yourforumaddress/ucp.php?mode=switch_perm&u=14

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:24 am
by NoDigital
Hello everybody.

Just a question: what are the default permissions of a bot / bots group? And what are the correct permissions for bots?
I'm asking this question because I just found - and today for the first time - on google's page, searching for my site, the link to the moderator panel attributed to google's spider...
I checked, selecting bots group -> choosing google -> grab permission , and found it has full moderating privileges.
The same was for MSNbot, I didn't check for others but I think they are all identical.
So I selected again bots group -> permission privileges -> switched all to "no" and now bots have no more moderating privileges.

I'm running a 3.0.8 version bridged with 1.5.12 coppermine, and some minor mods on the style.
Was it correct, a bug or other?

Thanks for help.

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:41 am
by HGN
Groups' permissions for bots should all be "No" for types "User permissions", "Global moderator permissions" and "Admin permissions".
Groups' forum permissions for bots should be "Bot access" role for type "Forum permissions" for the forums that should be indexed, and "No access" for the forums that should not be indexed.
Groups' forum permissions for bots should all be "No" for type "Moderator permissions" for all forums.

Re: how to test bots permissions?

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:00 am
by NoDigital
Thanks for answer.
So I did the right thing switching all of them to "no" ...
But WHY and HOW those permission were setted to "yes"? Or WHAT did it?