[Split] Problems with RC6 / Release of RC7

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by Tripp »

I'm trying to update and I've been getting fatal errors due to mods. I just removed what it told me and got it all almost updated. Once it updates, it wants to check the files again to make sure they updated correctly.

Collecting file differences
Currently having differences about 0 from 389 files collected.
Please wait until file collection finished.

It just sits there at 0.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
The_Descendant
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:48 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by The_Descendant »

Run the update again and you should find that all files have been updated. ;)
NeilUK
Registered User
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 7:54 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by NeilUK »

I have the "invalid form" error but I am getting in the proSilver style. I have uploaded the new style files from the full package. In fact I used the full package option for upgrading RC5 to RC6, deleting all files first and then copying back the config file and then using database_update file. SubSilver works fine (apart from strangely telling me I have an unread PM when the inbox and outboxes are empty!)
But proSilver just won't have it, I used the SQL command mentioned earlier that clears the cache but no luck

Any Ideas?

(EDIT) - Its ok , I got the error for 5 mins or so but then worked fine. I guess there is a delay when using the SQL cache command


Thanks
Last edited by NeilUK on Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by karlsemple »

NeilUK wrote:I have the "invalid form" error but I am getting in the proSilver style. I have uploaded the new style files from the full package. In fact I used the full package option for upgrading RC5 to RC6, deleting all files first and then copying back the config file and then using database_update file. SubSilver works fine (apart from strangely telling me I have an unread PM when the inbox and outboxes are empty!)
But proSilver just won't have it, I used the SQL command mentioned earlier that clears the cache but no luck

Any Ideas?

it is likely that your board is still using the copy of prosilver which is stored in the database and thus out of date, you might want to read the sticky at the top of this forum on common RC6 updating issues and run the script to empty your styles_template_data database table to see if that helps :)
Image
User avatar
r4wMUnt34q
Registered User
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:41 am
Location: Hard to explain :)
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by r4wMUnt34q »

I did a fresh RC6 installation on XAMPPlite 1.6.4 and I cant purge my cache, delete the admin log after I click on "Yes" in the "Do you want to carry out this operation?", because it shows error 404... Should I post it to bug reports ?
NeilUK
Registered User
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 7:54 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by NeilUK »

Thanks Karl

I was just editing my post at the same time you replied, it never ceases to amaze me how quickly you and other members of the team reply. The SQL query did work, I guess there is a delay before it happening

Any ideas why subSilver2 thinks I have an unread pm?
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by Tripp »

Got it updated and thought I had it all worked out until someone tried posting and got:

The submitted form was invalid. Try submitting again.

So I went and tried to post and got the same thing.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
The_Descendant
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:48 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by The_Descendant »

The_Descendant wrote:Last night I updated my RC5 to RC6, now everything worked perfectly. However, I was having the Administrator problem, so I followed Highway of Life's thing directly, BUT actually deleted the files straight from the database in PHPmyadmin. Ya know the Template_id and things? Well, I deleted those, anyway I can get them back? :? I feel really, REALLY stupid now. And now I'm getting this:
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Unknown column 't.template_id' in 'field list' [1054]

An SQL error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact the Board Administrator if this problem persists.
P.S. I have not made a backup. ;-;
Just quoting myself just in case someone hasn't seen this problem but knows the solution. :roll:
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by Tripp »

Well, you just learned a good lesson. Always backup database.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
The_Descendant
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:48 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by The_Descendant »

Yes... Thanks for the Tremendous help, thats solved all my problems. All I had to do was build a Time Machine to go back and backup my database. :mrgreen:

Sarcasm! :|

Look, if you can't help me then don't bother posting.
User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 5:18 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

Not sure I understand what you did or whether there is a way back; anyway, try asking your provider if they have a backup.
Whatever I say, it's not my fault.
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by karlsemple »

Assuming you are running mysql 4.1 or 5 Try running this sql query in phpmyadmin

Code: Select all

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `phpbb3_styles_template`;
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `phpbb_styles_template` (
  `template_id` smallint(4) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `template_name` varchar(255) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL default '',
  `template_copyright` varchar(255) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL default '',
  `template_path` varchar(100) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL default '',
  `bbcode_bitfield` varchar(255) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL default 'kNg=',
  `template_storedb` tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
  PRIMARY KEY  (`template_id`),
  UNIQUE KEY `tmplte_nm` (`template_name`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM  DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 COLLATE=utf8_bin AUTO_INCREMENT=3 ;

INSERT INTO `phpbb_styles_template` (`template_id`, `template_name`, `template_copyright`, `template_path`, `bbcode_bitfield`, `template_storedb`) VALUES 
(1, 0x70726f73696c766572, 0xc2a92070687042422047726f7570, 0x70726f73696c766572, 0x6c4e673d, 1);

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `phpbb_styles_template_data`;
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `phpbb3_styles_template_data` (
  `template_id` smallint(4) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
  `template_filename` varchar(100) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL default '',
  `template_included` text collate utf8_bin NOT NULL,
  `template_mtime` int(11) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
  `template_data` mediumtext collate utf8_bin NOT NULL,
  KEY `tid` (`template_id`),
  KEY `tfn` (`template_filename`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 COLLATE=utf8_bin;
Image
User avatar
wmtipton
Registered User
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by wmtipton »

Since Im not really into PHP or anything and dont want to deal with extra work now and then having to keep updating possibly a few more times before a gold release (and happy with RC5 as well)....is holding out for a gold release an ok idea for someone like me....or will the update from RC5 to a gold release be something that isnt going to be possible....ie, Ill still have to go from RC5 to RC6 first or something ?

Id rather do the work ONCE later at a gold release than possibly do it now and a few more times till gold.

:)
mysql database backup software - mysql Workbench
The_Descendant
Registered User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:48 pm

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by The_Descendant »


SQL query:

INSERT INTO `phpbb_styles_template` ( `template_id` , `template_name` , `template_copyright` , `template_path` , `bbcode_bitfield` , `template_storedb` )
VALUES ( 1, 0x70726f73696c766572, 0xc2a92070687042422047726f7570, 0x70726f73696c766572, 0x6c4e673d, 1 ) ;

MySQL said: Documentation
#1054 - Unknown column 'template_id' in 'field list'
Now what do I do?
User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: Read this if you are experiening problems with RC6

Post by karlsemple »

If your forum is modified you are still going to have to use the patch or auto updater which means doing the RC5-RC6 update later on and then the RC7 update and etc.....(assuming there is more RC releases) My honest opinion is you would be better biting the bullet and getting it updated now :)
Image
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”