No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Update from RC5 to RC7 with last post title mod (RC1) still working: automatic update with merged conflict files. Says everything up to date and ok.

No posting or new registrations possible, no access to ACP, no display of uploaded avatars. That's what I notice now. Problems started after updating the database. Is there a single or economic fix for all these problems?

I tried to make a new installation of RC7 and read my backup of the already updated database in by uploading it to /store and restoring it. But then I still have those or similar problems. :oops:

Another setup just connected to the database via changes in config.php gives similar problems. Suppose it's something with the database.

Unless somebody has an idea what could be the simple reason and how to fix it easily I'll try to use an older backup of my database and go the painful road from there.

Thanks for your ideas.

Clintonio
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 7:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by Clintonio »

I had a very similar issue and it was resolved by this thread here:

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=584922

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Clintonio wrote:I had a very similar issue and it was resolved by this thread here:

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=584922
I read that too before taking any action. Replacing the whole software and restoring a backup or connecting another fresh setup to the database is IMO just the same as replacing all files exept config.php. The problem doesn't seem to be in the forum software but rather the database.

Forgot to mention I'm still using prosilver and subsilver2 only.

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Just for comparison:

http://www.korat-info.com/forum/index.php is the forum updated from RC5 to RC7 and

http://www.korat-info.com/new/index.php is the new setup without any mods connected to the same database. Both have about the same problems. The database has been updated.

Accessing the ACP I get this in spite of having entered my password:

General Error
You need to enter your password to access the Administration Control Panel.

Trying to post I get:

The submitted form was invalid. Try submitting again.

Trying to register I just get back to the registration page after agreeing to the terms.

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Clearing the caches except ht.access and index.htm doesn't help.

Updating the database again doesn't help either:

Updating database to latest stable release
Database type :: mysql4
Previous version :: 3.0.RC7
Updated version :: 3.0.RC7
Updating database schema
Progress :: No updates required
Updating data
Progress :: No updates required
Updating version and optimising tables
Progress :: . . Done
Result :: No errors
Update completed

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

After running that clear.php file it lets me authenticate for the ACP again, but still not post or show avatars. Probably have to fix every little thing by hand.

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

After running that clear.php file it lets me authenticate for the ACP again, but still not post or show avatars. Probably have to fix every little thing by hand. It sent me these error messages too

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/www/web142/html/forum/clear.php:1) in /var/www/web142/html/forum/includes/functions.php on line 3368

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/www/web142/html/forum/clear.php:1) in /var/www/web142/html/forum/includes/functions.php on line 3370

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/www/web142/html/forum/clear.php:1) in /var/www/web142/html/forum/includes/functions.php on line 3371

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/www/web142/html/forum/clear.php:1) in /var/www/web142/html/forum/includes/functions.php on line 3372

mahdia
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:28 pm

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by mahdia »

I have exactly the same problem

how to fix it ???

thank you in advance

cardiac_arrest
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 5:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by cardiac_arrest »

I'm getting exact same issue upgraded last night from RC5 to RC7 and now...no new posts, no access to ACP no matter what i do...it will not even allow me to change themes in my user CP...

What's the scoop?

Wauziweb
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:14 am
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by Wauziweb »

Have nearly the same problems after updating from RC5 to RC7...

Database Update running very well (local and live)
Board Software Updated local and copied live
...can't post
...no acp access

->

Copied Software RC5 backup back to server (still running with RC7 database...)
...post runs well
...still can't get into acp

what can I do???
PLEASE HELP ME!!! :o

-> after editing code as told in Post:"Problems with RC6/7"
...run clear.php
...edit template

now:
...no login possible!

thx in advance
Thorsten
Last edited by Wauziweb on Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
live-board: http://forum.mini-aussies.com/
mods: ajax shoutbox / visitors today / upcoming birthdays / recent topics / tracker / user map / imageshack / welcome pm

cardiac_arrest
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 5:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by cardiac_arrest »

7th F'ing RC and this is what we get...sweet GG phpbb

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Today posting is possible again with the updated verson only - not yet with the new setup connected to the same database. Neither can I log in to the ACP at the new setup. I don't understand that something new could be "outdated" :roll:

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Clearing the cache again, enabled also the new setup for posting. Looks like everything just has to get done a dozen times.

Wauziweb
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:14 am
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by Wauziweb »

...have done a local installation RC7 (no MODs)
...connected to a copy of the updated database (RC5->RC7)
...changed to prosilver style via direct change in database
...cleaned cache path
...cleaned database cache via clear.php

-> all running
-> system information allways tells me that I have to update my system!!! :shock:
live-board: http://forum.mini-aussies.com/
mods: ajax shoutbox / visitors today / upcoming birthdays / recent topics / tracker / user map / imageshack / welcome pm

User avatar
KoratCat
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:54 am
Location: Korat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: No Posting, no ACP access, no registrations . .

Post by KoratCat »

Wauziweb wrote: -> all running
-> system information allways tells me that I have to update my system!!! :shock:
I would try an update with the automatic installer. If the database is already updated it will just check it and confirm. Then the automatic update will check your files for conflicts. It might tell you where there is a problem. You can still cancel the update then.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”