"Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

"Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:44 pm

I am getting this error all over the place. I have check the items and followed the steps outlined here:

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=584922
and
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 4&t=585027

No luck, still getting errors. Here is my setup:

Your board's URL: http://bcasparamedics.com/forums
Version of phpBB3: RC7
Was this a fresh install or a(n) update/upgrade/conversion (please be specific)? FRESH INSTALL
Was this an install through your host? NO, installed myself
MODs you have installed: None
When the problem started: Square one.

Help is appreciated. Thanks. :(

User avatar
darcie
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 9:52 am
Location: Davis, California
Name: Darcie Griffin
Contact:

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by darcie » Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:58 pm

In this topic, http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=584922 did you run the script in the second post? What style are you using, just to confirm?
phpBB on Facebook | Site Rules | Former Community Team leader

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:56 am

Yes, I did run that script, and it stated successful. I also cleaned out the "cache" folder with the exception of the htaccess and index.htm file. Did not solve the issue.

I am using prosilver style.

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by Phil » Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:26 am

Did you also do the edits in the second post? If that didn't work, try download a new copy of phpBB and re-uploading the templates folder, then clear the cache using the script in the post darcie linked to above.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:40 am

Yes, those edits were already done in the version of files I installed.

I only downloaded and installed this system 3 days ago, and it says they have not been updated since... I have also already tried re-uploading the templates folder.

No avail.

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Sun Nov 18, 2007 11:44 pm

Any more thoughts anyone?

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:19 pm

bump :cry:

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by karlsemple » Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:26 pm

Did you use this script to clear out the database cache to make sure the database cache has gone as well as the emptyng the cache folder? Assuming the template files updated this is all you should need to do to get round this error if you are using prosilver. If you have phpmyadmin you might want to try emptying the styles_template_data database table manaully using phpmyadmin.
Image

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:55 pm

karlsemple wrote:Did you use this script to clear out the database cache to make sure the database cache has gone as well as the emptyng the cache folder?
I Tried the other clear.php script, but not this one.

Now when I try this one, it says "General Error"??

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:01 am

karlsemple wrote:Did you use this script to clear out the database cache to make sure the database cache has gone as well as the emptyng the cache folder? Assuming the template files updated this is all you should need to do to get round this error if you are using prosilver. If you have phpmyadmin you might want to try emptying the styles_template_data database table manaully using phpmyadmin.
Oops sorry... Now I see, "General Error" is just the page title. Then when I clicked on the text to clear cache, and reset theme, it gave me green text saying successful. Then I cleared the cache folder in my FTP program...

Still getting error in many places!! AHHH!

I am going to try to learn phpmyadmin next....... :cry:

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Fri Nov 23, 2007 3:42 am

Anybody else with a suggestion, I am pulling my hair out here!! :cry:

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:28 pm

OK, so I am still fighting this... Here is what I just did:

I downloaded phpBB 3 RC7 again, and installed a fresh copy in a "test" folder. Its here: http://bcasparamedics.com/test_forum/
I made all the settings exactly the same as my live forum, and it installed perfectly. I then made all the database settings the same, so both boards are running off the same DB.

The test board runs fine, and NEVER throws this error.

So.... I backed up everything in my LIVE folder, then erased it all. I then moved the files (which are working fine) from the test folder to the live folder.

The board ran correctly, all the posts and users are there... BUT IT STILL GIVES THIS DAMN ERROR! It just won't go away!

I have tried everything I can think of, and everything I can find on here... no luck... please help!

bc2planker
Registered User
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by bc2planker » Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:26 pm

I have finally SOLVED this issue.

So after extensive testing I narrowed down the problem to be something in my database from my original install. I have installed I don't know how many "test" forums, and finally isolated that the problem only starts occurring AFTER I restore my database.

So then what I did is start restoring only some of the tables database. After a few tries, I got it. I think the problem was in my config table.

So I basically only restored the tables containing the posts, PM's, and user data.

Now my board is running smooth... no more Invaild errors, no more registration problems! So relieved.

Waiting for GOLD now... fingers crossed.

papermate
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:47 pm

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by papermate » Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:21 am

Hello,
A more decent way exist.


Hello,

I am not sure this will help and i dont remember where i see someone talk about this.
This maybe "not" an official solution to solve the problem, a TEAM MEMBERS will have to look at this becose we are SEVERAL people who are having thoses problems and NONE official solution was gived from the team support.

The only decent solution to solve this problem was to do this:

To get rid of theses 2 problems after updating to RC8 from RC7,
1. "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"
2. Registering not working (people are getting back to the first registration page always).

The solution i found there by someone was:
A. Go to admin control panel
B. Go to General
C. Go to Security settings
D. If the entered values for the option "Maximum time to submit forms:" is -1
E. Try to set it to 7200 (you can possibly get the boring message, try it again till you got green message)
F. If it's not -1, i have no idea if it's will help.
Please after do this:
Admin panel / general / Purge the cache [run now] Yes.
Exit, empty your browser temporary cache/file and try to see if it's worked.

I have no idea if it's will work with just that.
What i have to do before finding this information was to do a complete new install of all phpbb files into my sftp account.
This can be NOT needed to solve this issue after an already correct update done for RC8.
You can test, this is just a suggestion about how i solved the problem.

People can now register correctly and the boring message go away.

I wish this problem can be ANALYSED or something like ANSWERED by the TEAM SUPPORT becose i have not see a working words from them on this issue and like i say, see... We are SEVERAL people who are getting this problem just by doing a CORRECT upgrade from RC7 to RC8.

Good day.

User avatar
Richie-Rich
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: Riverview, FL
Contact:

Re: "Invaid Form. Try Submitting Again"

Post by Richie-Rich » Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:03 am

I am going to try your recommendation. The -1 was already set and where you recommend 7200, we had 0, which is supposed to disable the time.

we have -1 and 7200 now. Will report back.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”