Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by Phil »

The Support Request Template, as mentioned above.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

allanhardy
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 4:20 am

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by allanhardy »

What he said the SRF is there for a reason

So, all users are newly registered, prosilver fails

Now really want to know what IPs are in the sessions table and users table

User avatar
shadow07
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:25 am

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by shadow07 »

well heres what my host says.

Hi there, That is using REMOTE_ADDR, which your forum is includes/session.php: $this->ip = (!empty($_SERVER[\'REMOTE_ADDR\'])) ? htmlspecialchars($_SERVER[\'REMOTE_ADDR\']) : \'\'; however it seems to store the ip into a session , so if the people still have sessions they may still be identified with 127.0.0.1..

allanhardy
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 4:20 am

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by allanhardy »

Pretty much greek to me, I mean as to what they are saying is a problem. thing to fix.

So you dont want to bother with SRF?

Did you look at sessions/users tables? Can you?

The item you highlighted as bad - Registered IP
is the one in users table I beleive.

User avatar
shadow07
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:25 am

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by shadow07 »

well Apparently the problem is fixed now but now I have a delema

All of my members that registered before an hour ago are stuck with the ip ive shown you guys including me. But any new registered members will have their ips show.. sigh...

wildbill
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:17 pm
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by wildbill »

Set up a separate test board on the same server and leave the settings as prosilver defaults - then try registering a user, and post the results. The link you posted, http://www.rdglive.com/forums, has a heavily modified registration page that could have an error (or several) in it.

allanhardy
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 4:20 am

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by allanhardy »

Fixed How?
We , well I, would like to know these things, its kinda a two way street here. Others may benifit

Did your host/isp fix some problem?

As to those users that came in with thinsg were wrong, I would just set the users table ip field to blank
I have a few thousands users from v2 that dont have registration IP information since it wasnt captured before v3

User avatar
shadow07
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:25 am

Re: Founder <Admin> Cant view correct ips? (Stable Release)

Post by shadow07 »

The link you posted, http://www.rdglive.com/forums, has a heavily modified registration page that could have an error (or several) in it.wildbill

Wtf are you talking about, there is no modificatiosn what so ever in these forums, the registration is exactly the same as the default. There is absolutley no changes to this. I just installed the current version phpbb 3.0 and thats it, I also added a style in which the registration page is the same. This problem also Existed before I added any styles to the forums.
As to those users that came in with thinsg were wrong, I would just set the users table ip field to blank
I have a few thousands
So basically blank out the user ip field in phpmy admin? and when they login it should reset?

so

phpbb_users > User_IP > Empty

or

phpbb_sessions > Session_IP > Empty

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”