global announcements changes location

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
trokel
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Spain (Sorry for my English)

global announcements changes location

Post by trokel » Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:07 am

Hello, I've installed recent phpBB forum and I have a problem, when I'm creating a global announcement on any forum, it moves automatically to the first forum that i've created, what happens?

Thanks a lot

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by karlsemple » Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:10 am

Global Announcements should be at the top of every forum is this not happening for you?
Image

trokel
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Spain (Sorry for my English)

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by trokel » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:51 pm

I will try to explain it better, suppouse that my forum is like:

-Category 1
·Sub-catecory1.1
·Sub-catecory1.2
·Sub-catecory1.3

-Category 2
·Sub-catecory2.1
·Sub-catecory2.2

-Category 3
·Sub-catecory3.1
·Sub-catecory3.2
·Sub-catecory3.3

*Sub-catecory3.3.1


Ok, so I've decided to make a global announcement published at *Sub-catecory3.3.1 (the url of this post-clobal annoucement its somethnig like this "viewtopic.php?f=23&t=9"), when I enter at *Sub-catecory3.3.1 I could see it ande the url is the same, when I'm at -Category 1 I could see the global annoucement too, but the url changes to "viewtopic.php?f=0&t=9", when I'm at -Category 2 the url is "viewtopic.php?f=0&t=9" and when I'm at ·Sub-catecory2.2 the url is "viewtopic.php?f=13&t=9" and so on. The problem is that when a user have permissions to see -Category 3 and it's subs and is at forum index, the global announcement has the url "viewtopic.php?f=0&t=9" because of that the user who hasn't permissions to see -Category 1 couldn't see the global announcement POSTED on *Sub-catecory3.3.1 which must see it.

Hope that i've explained it correctly ;)

Thanks!!!

trokel
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Spain (Sorry for my English)

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by trokel » Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:24 pm

Does anyone knows any solution??

Thanks!!

trokel
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Spain (Sorry for my English)

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by trokel » Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:42 pm

Ok, so if nobody knows the answer, at least I wish to know if this error is only at my forum or if someone have the same problem...

Please, tell me if your forums appears like mine...

Thanks!!!

trokel
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Spain (Sorry for my English)

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by trokel » Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:07 pm

Is this only happening at my forum?? please people, answer my question... take a minute to test it on your forum and post your experience here, please...

THANKS!!!

IngerK
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:38 am

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by IngerK » Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:44 am

I'm not quite sure if I understand you, but this is maybe same problem as I have? I have posted a "blogs styling guide" in my "Technical forum". Then I wanted to make this a global announcement. When I now is viewing this announcement (from active topics or from UCP), it seems to reside in "Red Roses", a small subforum under "Roses". I want the topic to still reside in "Technical forum", as this has nothing to do with roses.
And - if I edit it to be a normal topic, it ends up under "Garden plants" :(

kyle1745
Registered User
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 2:21 am

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by kyle1745 » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:22 am

I am seeing this as well when I change a topic to a global it moves its location. What is bad is on my site it moves it to a non-public forum so no one can read this.

Anyone have any ideas on this? Im not sure why it is moving and is there a way to stop it?

kyle1745
Registered User
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 2:21 am

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by kyle1745 » Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:01 am

Anyone?

Ciao121
Registered User
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:08 pm

Re: global announcements changes location

Post by Ciao121 » Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:58 am

Same problem here :(
Apri il tuo forum gratuito in 1 minuto.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”