All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
callumw
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in the ether ...
Contact:

All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by callumw »

Hi
Question is as per the subject.
Searched the V3 area but couldn't find this topic

I'm used to BB's having all links open in a new window (target="_blank")
Now the PHPbbV3 opens all links in the same page :(

Is there a way we can change this so that post [url] links ... take the user to a new window?

I had a look at the BBCodes area (ACP | Posting | BBCodes), but am nervous about trying to add it there in case I screw up the core BBcode.

Any help welcome

User avatar
ameeck
Former Team Member
Posts: 6559
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:57 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by ameeck »


callumw
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in the ether ...
Contact:

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by callumw »

Perfect.

Tested and put onto the live site.
Thanks so much :geek:

pacop2
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:04 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by pacop2 »

Would be nice to have the option to change the link behaveour in ACP.

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by Phil »

This won't happen as the goal is for the template code to be XHTML valid.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

Gatsu
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:21 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by Gatsu »

Thanks ameeck, this helps a lot.

callumw, did it work for you, when it comes to links not wrapped in BBcode? I followed the instructions, and only bbcode links, open in an external window...

I even tried to replace:

Code: Select all

$html    = "$whitespace<!-- $tag --><a$class href=\"$url\">$text</a><!-- $tag -->$append";
with just:

Code: Select all

$html    = "$whitespace<!-- $tag --><a$class href=\"$url\" onclick=\"window.open(this.href);return false;\">$text</a><!-- $tag -->$append";
and it still didn't worked :?

I've already purged the cache, so... does anyone have the same problem?

Gatsu
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:21 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by Gatsu »

Sorry, I just realize now that the links not wrapped with bbcode, that work are the ones posted after the change...

oh well, not quite what I wanted but, I can live with that...

cheers

User avatar
Nooby_Mad_Doc
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:42 am

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by Nooby_Mad_Doc »

my smileys got screwed up now :(

it comes like this now :( s:( -->src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_sad.gif" alt=":(" title="Sad" />s:( --> s:( -->src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_sad.gif" alt=":(" title="Sad" />
I yam what i yam , Sorry i yam a nooby But i yam learning as fast as possible. PS: i yam mad

Image

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69614
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by KevC »

Nooby_Mad_Doc wrote:my smileys got screwed up now :(

it comes like this now :( s:( -->src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_sad.gif" alt=":(" title="Sad" />s:( --> s:( -->src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_sad.gif" alt=":(" title="Sad" />
What does that have to do with this topic?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

fazrul
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:41 am

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by fazrul »

Can we choose either we want the url to be opened in new window or not? How do we do that ? Please help

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69614
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by KevC »

fazrul wrote:Can we choose either we want the url to be opened in new window or not? How do we do that ? Please help
You can do that with your browser. Left click the link to open in the same window, right click (or middle click if you have the mouse set up that way) to open a new window or tab.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

c4mp3sin0
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 3:05 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by c4mp3sin0 »

I did all things I have to do

but old links just open on same window..... can someone help?

thanks in advance...

c4mp3sin0.-

mitchelln
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:47 am

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by mitchelln »

I'm getting a lot of requests for this on my site. I've tried the changes in the knowledge base, but auto-detect link still open in the same page. This is really unpopular with my forums users.

Any ideas?

Thanks

nexusgx
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:15 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by nexusgx »

I'm having the same problem.

I should mention I did apply the "Knowledge Base - Links Opening New Windows" article and purged the cache, and that has had no affect. Any ideas?

The FlyerFly
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:44 pm

Re: All PHPbb3 links open in same window - not new

Post by The FlyerFly »

is anyone offering support for this issue?? :? i am also having trouble only with the auto-detected links.

this would seem to be a relatively simple problem, and ive being searching for a fix for literally months. one would also think that this issue would be of some importance since users are being pointed to a Knowledge Base article that does not offer a solution or is simply inaccurate.

can someone please finally help with this??

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”