Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
elizdilo
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:42 am

Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by elizdilo » Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:55 am

I am new to forums and downloaded this for on my site. I have tried to change the persimmions on the store/, cache/, files/ and images/avatars/upload/, and config.php. Evertime I try to do it in Dreamweaver it says that my site might not be an FTP site. I have no idea where the server is located to check. Can anyone please help me on what to do? I can't get past the first install page.

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Pit$Bull » Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:59 am

Don't use Dreamweaver use a FTP client, I use and recommend Filezilla http://filezilla-project.org/download.php
It's fee and does a great job. ;)

elizdilo
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:42 am

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by elizdilo » Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:10 am

Thank you! I will try it and hope it works.

ict tech
Registered User
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:12 pm

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by ict tech » Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:23 am

you were right Pit$Bull it is
Pit$Bull wrote:fee
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Neo.Gamer
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:17 am

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Neo.Gamer » Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:45 am

Ugh, Dreamweaver is perfectly fine. Just make sure you've set your FTP access in the site options though FTP ONLY. No other protocol will alow permission changes.

To my knowledge at least.

ict tech
Registered User
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:12 pm

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by ict tech » Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:47 am

Neo.Gamer wrote:Ugh, Dreamweaver is perfectly fine. Just make sure you've set your FTP access in the site options though FTP ONLY. No other protocol will alow permission changes.

To my knowledge at least.
100% correct, you need to set permissions for the files on your website, which are held in your ftp folder, which can be accessed through a cpanel or an ftp client (nothing else) :D :D :D

elizdilo
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:42 am

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by elizdilo » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:39 pm

I was finally able to change the permissions and it still says unwritable.

Files and Directories
Required - In order to function correctly phpBB needs to be able to access or write to certain files or directories. If you see “Not Found” you need to create the relevant file or directory. If you see “Unwritable” you need to change the permissions on the file or directory to allow phpBB to write to it.

cache/: Found, Unwritable
files/: Found, Unwritable
store/: Found, Unwritable

I can't get past that first page.

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Pit$Bull » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:46 pm

You have Not set the permissions.
cache/: Found, Unwritable
files/: Found, Unwritable
store/: Found, Unwritable
Set them at 777

elizdilo
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:42 am

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by elizdilo » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:52 pm

I downloaded FileZilla and changed them in there. When I change it and hit ok it tells me:

Status: Set permissions of '/html/forum/phpBB3/store' to '777'
Command: SITE CHMOD 777 store
Response: 253 Attributes changed okay.
Status: Retrieving directory listing...
Command: PASV
Response: 227 Entering Passive Mode (208,83,25,139,7,185)
Command: LIST
Response: 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for /bin/ls.
Response: 226-Maximum disk quota limited to 300000 Kbytes
Response: Used disk quota 18810 Kbytes, available 281189 Kbytes
Response: 226 Transfer complete.
Status: Directory listing successful

When I right click on it again to check the attributes, they are back to 666

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Pit$Bull » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:54 pm

Better check with your host. Have you tried setting them via your hosting control panel?

elizdilo
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:42 am

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by elizdilo » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:56 pm

No i have not. I took this site over and have no idea how to even find who hosts the site.

Chapster5
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:52 pm

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Chapster5 » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:57 pm

I used windows explorer to set mine,

in the address bar just put your FTP address like this

ftp://number.number.number.numer

then put your username and password in

right click on the folders/files that need setting and choose properties, then try from there

Good Luck!

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Pit$Bull » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:59 pm

How did you even set up the database if you can't access the control panel?

elizdilo
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:42 am

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by elizdilo » Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:08 pm

I was given the username and password to set the site up. I have not got past the install.

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: Setting Permissions 666 and 777

Post by Pit$Bull » Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:10 pm

And you won't if you can't set up the database (have to do that first) :P

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”