How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
redblazes
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 6:35 pm

How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by redblazes »

Hello there,

I'd like to set up my board so that for all new user registrations, the default setting for "Notify me upon replies by default" is set to "yes" instead of "no" (in UCP > Board Preferences > Edit Posting Defaults).

I assume this is a simple fix but don't know where to do it.

Thanks.

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by Pit$Bull »

It takes a MOD, you can find it here http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 9&t=583923 ;)

fround
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:25 am

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by fround »

That mod simply notifies the admin on a new registration, which is something else entirely.

I'd also like to alter the default set of preferences new users receive, and I figured it would be someplace in the ACP but for the life of me I can't find it.

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by Pit$Bull »

The changes you want will take file modifications. I suggest you try the MOD forum as they can best answer your question. http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewforum.php?f=81

ccb056
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:28 am

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by ccb056 »

I too am also interested in doing this to my board.

Pit$Bull
Former Team Member
Posts: 23099
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm
Name: Can't Remember

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by Pit$Bull »

ccb056 wrote:I too am also interested in doing this to my board.
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewforum.php?f=81

User avatar
ChrisRLG
Former Team Member
Posts: 3420
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by ChrisRLG »

This topic has already covered this.
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 4&t=543143

It is a very simple edit - just remember to clear the cache to make it take effect.
phpBB: The All Important Rules - Bertie Bear 3.0 - No support via PM system - use the forums please.
phpBB v2: Retirement (1/1/2009) : phpBB v3: Read Me Topic - Custom BBCodes - Support Template
Matthew 7:7"Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and a door will be opened to you."
My Links: MS MVP (Consumer Security) - Malware Removal:University - Own Forum: Custom BBCode testing

ccb056
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:28 am

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by ccb056 »

Last edited by ccb056 on Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

redblazes
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 6:35 pm

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by redblazes »

ChrisRLG -- thank you for the link to this thread: http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &t=543143.

You're right, it's a simple and easy fix. Just changing a '0' to a '1' in Includes > Functions_user.php.

Works like a charm.

darylt
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:00 pm

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by darylt »

This link is broken - does anyone know how to do this?

ccb056
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:28 am

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by ccb056 »

link updated

Kerrith
Registered User
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Pahoa, Hawaii
Contact:

Re: How to set new user default to notify upon replies?

Post by Kerrith »

You're right, it's a simple and easy fix. Just changing a '0' to a '1' in Includes > Functions_user.php.
Anyone know if this works with 3.0.5? I've made the change from '0' to a '1' and did a test registration but I, as admin, didn't receive an email notification.

I'd like to make this work because it doesn't require that I edit SQL.
I don't want to change the ACP setting from User to Admin because I want the new person to be able to post immediately

Kerry

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”