RESOLVED - phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5 on a Virtualmin system

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

RESOLVED - phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5 on a Virtualmin system

Post by bamajr »

I installed phpBB3 per the normal method on a server that was running PHP4.

I upgraded the PHP to version 5 and now the phpBB system doesn't work at all.

Suggestions?
Last edited by stickerboy on Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Moved to Support
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

I have since been able to switch back to PHP4, which allows the phpBB instance to work correctly again. YEAH!

However, there is some modifications I want to do of my own, and I need to be able to use PHP5.

What is the best way to switch from PHP4 to PHP5 on a live server system with posts to the forum and users I don't want to lose!
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by Phil »

phpBB3 has no issues working with PHP5. You should be able to simply switch without an issue. If "nothing displays at all", this is usually a sign of a suppressed error. In this case, the best course of action is to check your PHP error log to see what the actual problem is and then we can help you from there.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

ccb056
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:28 am

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by ccb056 »

Check your webserver error logs

User avatar
Techie-Micheal
Security Consultant
Posts: 19511
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 12:11 am
Location: In your servers

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by Techie-Micheal »

ccb056 wrote:Check your webserver error logs
I do believe that's what iWisdom has already suggested. ;)
Proven Offensive Security Expertise. OSCP - GXPN

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

what logs should I be checking? The PHP error log or the Apache error Log?

Or should the be something in both?
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

ccb056
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:28 am

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by ccb056 »

I would check both

Do any php pages work on the server?

Have you tried phpinfo() ?

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

ccb056 wrote:I would check both

Do any php pages work on the server?

Have you tried phpinfo() ?
PHP info is built into the phpBB Administrator's Area. It says PHP Version 4.4.4-8+etch4 !
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by Phil »

bamajr wrote:what logs should I be checking? The PHP error log or the Apache error Log?

Or should the be something in both?
The PHP error log would be the most likely place to check, but the Apache error log wouldn't hurt either. Of course, do this after switching to PHP5 and having a blank white page so there's actually something in there worth seeing ;)
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

I'm going to check out the error logs when I rule out a few other things.

See this is running on a Virtualmin Virtualserver.
You can easily switch between PHP4 and PHP5 and you can do it on a per server basis.

I have a domain running on the first/primary server. Then I have a subdomain running on the same system on two separate virtual servers beneath the primary server.

The web pages running on the primary server were fine when I switched between PHP4 and PHP5. However there was nothing major running on that side. The only PHP items running there was the SMARTY Templating engine ssytem. I was able to test the phpinfo() script and see it successfully change and there were no issues in the way pages were rendered.

However, when I switched to PHP5 on the subdomain with phpBB running, not a single phpBB page is able to be seen. And, since this is on a live system and there is information already stored in the phpBB system, I don't want to risk having to start over!
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

I just finished the phpinfo() test.

With PHP4 installed it registers as: PHP Version 4.4.4-8+etch4
WIth PHP5 installed it registers as: PHP Version 5.2.0-8+etch9, with this one installed, I get no phpBB pages.
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by Phil »

Try viewing one of the phpBB3 pages using PHP 5 and then checking the two error logs. This should hopefully give us some sort of error to go off of.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

iWisdom wrote:Try viewing one of the phpBB3 pages using PHP 5 and then checking the two error logs. This should hopefully give us some sort of error to go off of.

That is what I'm going to do next, but a little confused about where the logs would be for that particular site, on a virtual server system.

Would all the errors for all PHP issues on the website be logged in the same php error log?
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

bamajr
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Contact:

Re: phpBB3 & PHP4 or PHP5

Post by bamajr »

Okay so no issues in the Apache error log and none in PHP error log either.

So I checked the phpinfo()display again. The webpages that load when PHP5 had been upgraded to were blank white pages with no errors or info on it. And the web browsers acted as if nothing was wrong.

So I checked the phpinfo()display again. Sure enough I missed something. With PHP4 installed there is a section in the phpinfo for MYSQL and MYSQLI which isn't there with the PHP5 installed. So...

I ran the installation for php5-mysql package.

Code: Select all

apt-get install php5-mysql
When I re-checked the phpBB pages they work fine. When I re-checked the phpinfo() page there is now a MYSQL and a MYSQLI section.

Thanks ALL!
Bamajr
Technical Services Director
Sapphire Solutions, Ltd.
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com
http://www.sapphiresolutionsltd.com/ind ... =contactus

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”