3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
swa
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:05 pm
Contact:

3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by swa » Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:41 am

Help!

I've upgraded to 3.0.1 from a 3.0.0 converted from a 2.0.xx setup and initially it went fine, but then all of a sudden I got "This board has no forums." when I logged in with a different admin, it only went south from there and now even guest gets that message!

Edit: spelling
Last edited by swa on Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

demon327
Registered User
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:16 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by demon327 » Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:44 am

swa wrote:Help!

I've upgraded to 3.0.1 from a 3.0.0 converted from a 2.0.xx setup and initially it went fine, but then all of a sudden I got "This board has no forums." when I logged in with a different admin, it only wnet south from there and now even guest get that message!
its a known bug, but i dont get it why they dident fixed it cause i reported it and some other users to :?

swa
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by swa » Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:47 am

And how do you recover from this ?

iBotPeaches
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:38 am
Location: Vahalla
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by iBotPeaches » Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:47 am

If it helps. Happens to me too.

I put the 3.00 back. I hate updating with like 10 mods installed.
Image

Cyberex
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:34 am

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Cyberex » Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:53 am

Same problem

swa
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by swa » Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:02 pm

well putting back the 3.0.0 files doesn't solve it, still the same problem, must have affected something in the database but *WHAT?*

swa
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by swa » Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:15 pm

Seem to have my board back (well nto sure yet, but it seems I got it back after I resyncd stuff.

I resynced more than one so I'm not sure if either
- purged cache
- post, topic and user statistics resynchronised
- dotted topics resynchronised
did the trick.

Now back to checking if it's workign as it should

Updating a modded 2.0.xx was a PITA, but when it faced with the potential of loosing the entire board, or at least some serious downtime+backup restore I'd prefer the old ways.

FowlerFP
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by FowlerFP » Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:23 pm

I had the same problem... I first went and checked the permissions and they seemed fine then i cleared the cache and it worked fine so if you have the problem try clearing the cache and that should do the trick.

User avatar
Eelke
QA Team
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: NL, Bussum
Name: Eelke Blok
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Eelke » Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:39 pm

demon327 wrote:its a known bug, but i dont get it why they dident fixed it cause i reported it and some other users to :?
Do you have a link to that bug report?

proudyguys
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: SMOKING WEED AND SITTING INFRONT OF PC

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by proudyguys » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:14 pm

can you tell me what should i write here

Path to phpBB:
Path from the root to your phpBB board.

Code: Select all

what should i write here 

hificlass
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by hificlass » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:17 pm

swa wrote:Seem to have my board back (well nto sure yet, but it seems I got it back after I resyncd stuff.

I resynced more than one so I'm not sure if either
- purged cache
- post, topic and user statistics resynchronised
- dotted topics resynchronised
did the trick.

Now back to checking if it's workign as it should

Updating a modded 2.0.xx was a PITA, but when it faced with the potential of loosing the entire board, or at least some serious downtime+backup restore I'd prefer the old ways.
Clearing the cache solves this problem

swa
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by swa » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:29 pm

I'm not sure if that automate update script does actually clear the cache itself, but it probably should clear all caches ...

Colin Kaminski
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Colin Kaminski » Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:56 pm

Purging the Cache worked for me to. Thank you for this thread.

demon327
Registered User
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:16 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by demon327 » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:30 pm

in my cash it dident work with RC1.., but i gona leave phpbb :(

delicata
Registered User
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:49 am
Location: South Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by delicata » Wed Apr 09, 2008 5:56 am

I have the same problem but clearing the cache didn't work for me.
John - Delicata Designs
Tel: +44 (0) 7930 343276 | Fax: +44 (0) 7092 004104


Supporter of:
Independent Web Designers Portal | Mini Tutorials

Image

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”